Morning Whispers…

morning-whispers

 

Snowflakes are falling,

Lost in their silent dance

Across the landscape.

Some lean on fences

Others on the grass

And some balance furtively

On bow and weathered leaf.

All is quiet this morning,

Wrapped in its winter splendor

There is awe at the silent flight of snow

And an eerie restfulness sets in

It drapes itself across our backs

As we huddle beneath blankets

And settle on couches

Holding our morning coffee close

And our thoughts

Like breaths in winter

Swirl like mist escaping yawning mouths.

There is a wonder here –

In the silence,

In the sudden dance of movement

Across the morning sky

Bereft of azure thoughts

And sunshine surprises

Lo, the sky is filled

With a grayish glow

And the naked trees

Somehow lean in radiance

And though stark –

Beauty speaks in whispers

Across this winter landscape

And I,

Huddled indoors

With my morning coffee

Lost in my thoughts

And traipsing across

This winter scene

Smile in recognition,

For I’ve heard beauty speak.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Yes, we had snow this morning.  I could not help myself 🙂

Beautiful image courtesy of Pexels.com

20 Comments Add yours

  1. I love this poem. Beautiful words.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Like

  2. passionfiery says:

    a very descriptive write. beautiful imagery. lovely.
    keep writing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much!

      Like

  3. ScottlB says:

    Really beautiful images you painted with your words, now I’m really missing the snow. Gorgeous simply gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Scott. I find myself loving it in moments and in others hoping for Spring. Today, it is still lovely 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So lovely, and very fitting as we have snow. And those are indeed similar thoughts that ran through my head, the beauty, the quiet solitude, the lingering flakes having fallen softly before hand. Truly lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yep – snow here too. It is not that bad, just rather cold. I did not venture outdoors 🙂

      Like

      1. I venture outdoors for minutes then back inside as we have a family of rather vicious racoons outside, and the tracks tell me so. Also explains why the 3 cats won’t venture outside at the moment.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          We’ve had raccoons as well in the past, fortunately not vicious though. Be careful!

          Like

          1. After they did the report on the woman who was so viciously attacked, I’m not about to go head to head with them cause wow! she was unfortunately a mess and she couldn’t get away

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Sumyanna says:

            Oh wow. I had not heard of that. Definitely scary!

            Like

          3. The unfortunate woman went to protect her animal, can’t remember dog or horse, but the racoon climbed on her and devoured her arms face neck and legs it was awful to see. She’s recovering but she’s definitely scarred because it took chunks out of her. Made me sick tbh. One day I’ll tell you of our racoon. that is a most hilarious story.

            Like

          4. Sumyanna says:

            So horribly sad. I did not realize they were vicious. We had one that used to get into our garbage, but somehow my dad fixed that. We never had any trouble. Stay safe!

            Like

  5. Beautiful, you mesmerise me every time😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much!

      Like

  6. plainmama says:

    A gentle dance with winter words. So beautifully done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

