Daily Post Prompt: Making Lemonade

treasure

 

 Making Lemonade

My two youngest are in the kitchen
Making lemonade
A strange concoction
Of honey and lemon
with a bit of water
mmmmm
Sounds the song of approval
My little boy declares
It is delicious
Their best recipe yet
and he gulps it down.
I can’t help but think
How we often miss out
In life’s simple pleasures
The treasures of life
But how
At the same time
We urge to get past them.
As children,
They live fully in the moment
No obstacle ever daunts them
They rarely sit and mope
About what they’ve been given
They try
They strive
They fall and then rise
They are beauty itself
And I am just a silent passenger
Watching and waiting
For the moment they will learn to fly.

© Sumyanna 2016

4 Comments Add yours

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I can taste that drink!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I did not try 🙂 From my memories of childhood, it was probably way to sweet but I did not want to spoil the fun.

      Like

Leave a Reply

