I Must be a Damn Good Artist

I think all of us at some point in time have lost friends and we wonder what in the world happened.  At first, we are surrounded by people interested in who we are and not long after, there is a deep silence.  What is worse is when you have to still see one another socially, and they always promise to “call.”


I have grown to learn to not take these things personally (or at least I try my best not to).  Sometimes, we just don’t see eye to eye with someone else and we should never force that.  Sometimes we just don’t have time or perhaps there is a misunderstanding.  For me, I would want any person to be up front with me if they have any issues, but tht is often easier said than done.  Do you speak and hurt their feelings?  Do you stay quiet and let it bother you?  Friendship is a difficult dance and I am not as good at hiding my feelings as others may be.


No matter how I talk myself into accepting these things – as this is life afterall, there still is a bit of a sting sometimes…


fontcandy-2



I painted her a picture
my first artwork on canvas
dark marks etched its length
an image of beauty and truth
on it, inscribed “best friends”
even graced it with my signature.
I guess that’s the way it happens,
not long after – we no longer speak
just dead silence as if we’d never met
no phone calls, no texts –
and we meet sometimes, in public
all smiles – a hug, hello, and goodbye
as if people think they can disguise small talk
and somewhere in between
promises to call sometime
but she never does
strange thing is,
the other day I was on the phone
another friend had called, announcing:
“Oh what a beautiful painting you drew!”
seems she still has it hanging
after all this time
the sentiment is missing,
so I must be a damn good artist.


© Sumyanna 2016
6 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    I can definitely relate… sad but true.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yes, it is. However, I always tell myself it is their loss. It makes me feel a little better 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My post was something like that…ures is a good read..I like it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you – I enjoyed yours as well and completely agree 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Sad that it is, isn’t it? Eh… keep on trying, I guess. You never know when you will reach a gold mine 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

