Poetic Responses – I’ve Been Prompted #8

Prompts2

 

I asked everyone to write for a list of ten words a while ago and wow – many people jumped right in!  I shout out a sincere thank you for everyone who did respond.  It truly thrilled my heart (and made me feel a bit guilty because I had not yet started mine 🙂

 

For anyone that is interested – there are no deadlines for these prompts (but people would most likely see it soon after I make my post).  I will share a link to your post on my blog (both at the initial request and in this post).

 

Some final thoughts – this challenge is to use as many words as you can.  You do not have to use all of them.  What is important is that you use the worlds to take your imagination somewhere.  While I do write poetry about the seasons and nature often – I feel that this poem’s wording was highly influenced by the words I had to work with, so I am completely happy with the result.

 

Here is the list, in case you have missed it:

prompted8

 

And last (but not least) here is my response to the prompt list – I was able to manage all of the words this time.

 

 

fontcandy-3

 

I Believe in Me

 

My common stance

In life

Is to remain giddy

To spread my arms wide

And soar.

It matters not,

If my skyline sometimes

Is a walled-in prison

Where white-washed patterns

Dance in the shadows

Nor that the windows seem blocked

With crackling newspaper

Yellowed with age

I still manage

To see the sunshine

Beyond all the traces of gray

And the disheartening sound

Of voices hoping

To punish my unusual ways.

Through the years,

I have learned to shave

Buying significance

With broken promises.

I have learned

To no longer shyly seek

The proper pose

To this photographic fairy tale

Where the photographer poses

His blind eye behind the camera

And therein settles

The addition of self-doubt.

I have finally learned

The value of my voice

Of heartfelt longing

Of daring to race against the wind

While the opposing voices

Wail in delight

Do not go –

Do not try –

Do not…

But their voices

Pop disjointedly

And the voices

That I carry in my heart

Trot with boundless energy

Their baseless arguments

Fall on deaf ears

I shall yet go –

I shall yet try –

I shall…

And there ends the argument.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Beautiful earth image courtesy of Pixabay.com

 

I hope to post a new prompt some time this week 🙂

 

Writing at it’s best:  Other Writers Take on the Prompt

Excellent write by Leigha Robbins: In a Different League

Wonderful prose piece by The Pissy Poet: The Mock ECG

Wonderful prose piece, by Serendipitous Web Life: Gonna Wanna Dance

Amazing poem by november child: Sizzling

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. My dearest Sum,your words are so beautiful and I love what you wrote for this and as always I am very late but I hope you like my write which I wrote for this wonderful prompt,you can find it at
    http://lifeshues.org/leaves-story/
    I’m putting the link in case the ping-back doesn’t work,I hope you are having a beautiful time my sweet,please keep warm,love and hugs in tons.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much for sharing sweet Seema. I have missed you, gosh – it seems like ages since we have talked 🙂 I can’t wait to read your poem and I’m so glad that you did the prompt. Yay!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have missed only you honestly,going back to social networking feels like a task now,I do read poetry everyday though(not on g+) I have so much to tell you I will find some time to bug you soon 🙂 I’m doing your other prompt today,I hope I write a nice one 🙂 I love your prompts Sum,I just realised that I haven’t done your prompt #2 yet,should do that,but first prompt #7 🙂 you take care and look for my email,love and plenty of hugs to you and your beautiful babies,i love you Sum,i don’t say that enough,have missed your warm and soothing words,hugs hugs hugs

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Hope to hear from you 🙂 Never a bother, promise! Don’t worry about the order – it is more for ourselves, to stoke that creative spark. Keep at it, you are doing wonderfully! Hugs from all of us. Hope you can handle it 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. kahyehm says:

    wow, can I write this in calligraphy and send it to you? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I would love that. Just let me know what you need 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. kahyehm says:

        I can write it tomorrow and I’ll email it to you (mind’s kriziacasil@gmail.com)

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          I sent you an email. So sorry for being late! I was so busy getting the kids finished with school that I forgot 😦

          Liked by 1 person

          1. kahyehm says:

            hi! I’ll get back to you as soon as I can with the copy! (probably tuesday and wednesday) as you’re trying to get your kids to finish school I AM trying to finish school. Thank you again!

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Sumyanna says:

            No worries! I know what that maddening rush toward the goal is like. Hope you do well!

            Like

Leave a Reply

