I Write My Own Story

story

 

I fell asleep
with the words
tickling my soul
and I dreamed
– I dreamed
of a faraway place
where birds soared
their songs echoing
in the wind
the gentle swoop
and dive
wings tucked
then held out wide
they glide
and I am with them
the air is cool
as the sun sets
seeping slowly
into the horizon
and a purple haze
with flecks of pink
reach across the sky
and as they reach
– I reach
and the waters lap
against the sandy beach
the smooth dance
the ripple and roar
pull and then release
and I stretch myself
I lap upon the sands
and mingle with the shells
where sea creatures
slowly drag
across the sand
leaving footprints
then erased
and the tide returns
I am the sand
and the footprint
the lapping waves
the sea
I am stretched out
on the horizon
the pink haze
the setting sun
I am I
and I am everything
for as I sleep
I write my own story.

©  Sumyanna 2016

Beautiful image courtesy of Pexels.com
4 Comments Add yours

  1. this fills me up with the inspiration Sum,beautiful and yes we are everything…love love love this ,… love you …hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad it does Seema 🙂 Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Isabel Caves says:

    Lovely. I felt like I was dreaming too as I read this

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

