Always the Outsider

outsider

 

 

 

I have felt it sometimes,

In the still moments –

The desire to peel back

The edges of my history

and rewrite the lines.

There were times

when it was all too much

the lack of a gentle hand

to touch

there thrives within my skin

the desire

to go back again

and choose my characters well

observe them in their

darkest moments

test their resolve

and see who is fit

to tell the tale

to weave the inner-workings

of my blossoming thoughts

I bloomed,

As I did

In darkness

And with my own gentle hand,

I had sewn my wounds

I had called out

Each of their lies

For I knew

Where I was

Was not where I was meant

And I knew

Deep down

I deserved something more

You could say it was my calling

Carving through their hopeless thoughts

And finding something to hold on to

Call it –

Ignorance, if you will

Or perhaps a stubborn willingness

To defy all that felt wrong

To prove that they

Could never understand

The beauty of breath

And the lingering moments

That fall between them

I could not just shut up

March happily to the tune

Of their tin drum

And truthfully, I know –

I am better off because of it.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pexels.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I have loved this when i read it in PD too,very well conveyed Sum,i relate very much…love and hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you – I know exactly what you mean 🙂 Hugs by the dozens…

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you like it 🙂 Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

