Daily Post Prompt: I Walk This Road Alone

walk

 

Did you think
I was laying here
Lost in the shadows
Of my own longing
Bereft –
Beleaguered –
By the stresses
of your inaction?
Did you think I toiled
Long and hard
To be beset by the drag
Of long-held promises?
Long ago –
I would have tarried there
Wet behind the ears with sorrow
Sad lament sung upon my lips
But time is a passionate friend
Who holds truths evident
And warried eye
Should see the signs
Behold – I wait for no man,
But do turn the screw
With my own hands
And though the road
Is long and weary,
I shall go unafraid
For I have longed
for this moment
Set upon the great abyss
Of nothing
Of nothing
And knowing that nothing
Shall come of this
Except what paths
My dreams shall carry
What paths my own steps
Should choose to tread.
I wait not for promises
Of fortune and fame
For my needs have greeted
my open hands
I shall not wait for singing
Alongside the choir
No I raise my voice high
Above the sun
Across the moon swept valleys
Beyond the hidden foray
Of other voices
Other tongues
No, here is where
The road is etched
And though many may linger
beneath my footsteps
I walk this road alone.

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Written for The Daily Post Prompt: fortune

Gorgeous image courtesy of Pexels.com

9 Comments Add yours

  1. beautiful nevertheless…you are something !!! love and hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      We may sometimes feel we are alone, but truly we aren’t 🙂 I have you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. aww,and you shall have me whenever you need me my friend,God bless you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Hugs and sadly missing you to pieces. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I’m visiting your page now and see what you’ve been upto and will get to telling you what I have to,Insha Allah … love and hugs and secretly I’m so happy to hear that you’re missing me 🙂 such a blessing to hear these words right and I’m missing you too sweetheart,love always and Hulk Smashed are you 🙂 ❤❤❤❤❤

            Like

          2. Sumyanna says:

            Oh, I’ve been up to all sorts of trouble Seema 🙂 You know me. So glad you like it. And yes – you can be assured I have missed you (and no, not your comments as much as your presence). I’ve still got to read your latest posts, but I am terrible in that I WON’T read it until I get complete silence to listen with an attentive heart. I feel it deserves that much.

            Liked by 2 people

          3. me too take my time and silence to read 🙂 and thank you for your sweet words…love and hugs

            Liked by 1 person

  2. ”Some walks you have to take alone”unknown

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

