I Want to Reach Out – Living

living

 

When I

was a young child

I’d lay beneath

the shade of trees

and imagine . . .

what did I want to be,

when I grew up?

I had thoughts

and dreams

and I always

reached out – living.

As a young adult

I would lay

beneath the stars

and imagine . . .

what did I want to be,

when I grew up?

I had thoughts

and dreams

and I always

reached out – living.

As an adult now

I sit beneath

the shade of trees

enjoy the landscape

and heat of summer sun

and I imagine . . .

what do I want to be

when I grow up?

I have thoughts

and dreams

and I always

reach out – living.

When I grow older still,

yet past my prime

I want to sit beneath

the stars on moonlit nights

or lie in flourishing fields

beneath the prairie sky

I still want to ask myself –

what do I want to be

when I grow up?

and I always

always –

want to reach out

and keep on leaning

toward the answer

for I still want

to have thoughts

and dreams

I want to

reach out – living.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

4 Comments Add yours

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. samdapoet says:

    Really nice… I also always want to reach out living👌👍

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you – and we must 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

