Pondering Breath, A Poem

ponderingbreath

 

 

Between here and there
Is nothing
Save a gasped breath
And a moment of silence
To fill the lengthened
Meandering noise
that fills our lives.
I find myself
Standing in the stillness
And I can
Still hear my breath
Though disguised,
It peeks through the edges
And I begin to ponder
The true significance
Of silence.
Have I ever really had
A silent thought?
For we always carry voices
And what truths
Do we allow them to speak?
And I wonder –
Do I breathe because I can?
Or because I must?
Or can I not make a distinction?
We all find ourselves
In the slow crawl
Moving between
What will be
And what was
And we find ourselves
Settled somewhere in between
Pondering the significance
Of our own footsteps.

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Gorgeous image courtesy of Pixabay.com

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I love this poem, beautiful

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you. It is one of my favorites too 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

