Left Behind: A Broken Heart

leftbehind

Broken and alone
Somehow you found
The courage to leave me
And I am left with no words.
I thought the story
We told together
Went so well
And yet somewhere
Between
Hello and goodbye
You found somebody new
And I no longer have meaning.
I wonder
How you no longer see
We were made
For one another.
Two integral parts
That represent the
Whole of our existence.
You complete me
For without you
There is no end to this story
And no beginning.
And yet somehow,
You found someone new
And I’m left here
Thinking of you
And wondering why.

Do you hold her close
Like you held me before?
Tell me,
What is it that you adore?
Do you listen to her dreams
As you once listened to mine?
Tell me,
In her comfort, do you recline
Like you did as you listened to mine?
Do her words taste like wine?

These words writ upon the page
No longer share our story
And in my silence
I shall show
The sorrow in my heart
For you chose to turn the page
You went and found another.
Yes, some may say I’m just
Another book . . .
But my worn pages don’t lie
You once loved me.

© Sumyanna 2015

Have we not had at least one well-loved book, that we eventually put away? I was playing with the idea of how that book might feel 🙂

Beautiful image courtesy of Pexels.com
3 Comments Add yours

  1. An beautiful poem.Thanks for sharing.Love to you💝

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So much feeling…I love this.

    I feel sad about my childhood books. I hope they went to homes where they were loved just as much

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      You are definitely not alone. I do too…

      Like

Leave a Reply

