Contemplating Moments Spent, A Poem

 

fontcandy-2

 

I actually broke out of character and wrote a Portraits Poem (a narrative poem based on an actual painting) and decided to submit it now instead of as the Portraits Series.  I already have 77 poems in the series and I could not wait to share this one with you (I think I am still in my 30s somewhere in sharing the poems).

 

I could not help myself – this is me celebrating the fact that I am writing again after a long break.  Long story (we decided to lay hardwood floors in the house over the holiday break) and I’m still reeling at how much “putting things back together” I have to do.  That, paired with taking care of the kids, homeschooling, cooking, etc., etc., – you get the idea.  I have missed writing so terribly much, but I am grateful that while it feels like I need to write as much as one needs to breathe – it is not entirely true 🙂

 

Contemplating Moments Spent

I stood there on the balcony

Staring in the distance

And witnessed

Horse-drawn carriages

Slowly trotting

Toward the open square,

Ladies and gentlemen

Arm in arm

Strolling down

The well-groomed pathways

On Main Street

Their raised voices

Evidence of their merriment..

Eyes closed, I could still hear

The slow drawn out crawl

Of horse hooves

Clapping against

Brick paved streets,

Even as they

Faded in the distance.

I contemplated the many ways

The roads and avenues

Intertwined, intersected

And rose out of nothing.

There was a time

When all that existed here,

Was a patch of dirt

That no one called their home

But with vision

And enterprise

Opportunity swelled

And try as we might,

Progress cannot slow down.

Men walk now – with purpose

The daily newspaper

Held deftly beneath their arms

And ladies gaily

Sip tea in the afternoon

For social constraints

Require our presence

So we sip

And we sit

And we run down passageways

Chasing after time

As if it could be arrested

And sooner or later

We wake up to realize

Time has been wasted –

Wasting time.

As slowly as the sun’s descending

I trace the flushed cheeks

Of winter’s sky

I stretch my awareness

Beyond the pale of resting sun

And feel the cool lips

Of the sudden breeze that blows in.

I shiver

And am caught off-kilter,

Dancing between

Wanting to rush inside for warmth

And an eagerness to freeze

While witnessing the beauty

Of sun’s repose.

I stand there, juxtaposed

Between these two worlds

One – suffering the mad dash

And endless bending

To the wills and ways

Of society’s constraints,

And the other – gracefully embraced

By the gentle calm of nature’s beauty

And I finally realize

The wasted moments

Are those not spent

In contemplating

The labor of love

With which the sun does set

And the necessity of breathing

The splendor of her ways.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    So vivid and beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you highly!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. A beautiful poem, Sumyanna. I can just see the ladies sipping tea and the men walking with newspapers. Tweeted this on @bakeandwrite.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much – I am happy that you liked it. It was a great moment, finding the words again 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

