I am Impotent, A Poem…

impotent

 

I am sorry

That I could not do enough

But stand with sad eyes

Upon your predicament

Guns raised

And then the loud, ringing sound

Of finality

The thud of your falling

I could not reach out

I could not…

Grab the gun with my own hands

That I could not speak out

Yell

Scream

Tear my hair and wail

I do these things, you see

On the inside

I cry for the tears not shed by others

I scream out

With broken voice

Calling your name

But it is just too late.

I don’t know you –

You understand

I don’t know the life you’ve led

The sorrows you carried

The love you enjoyed

I know nothing

Save my own desire

To live and flourish

To breathe and dream.

I understand the sadness in your eyes

As the gun is raised

The worry

The fear

The finality of letting go

And the worries

Of everything left behind

Untouched

Undone

Undiscovered

I understand the desire

To hold on to hope

Even as the barrel rings out

In the silence

And dreams bleed

Where ashes turn to dust

Beneath our feet

I stand there

Mouth agape

An ocean of tears

Swelling in my chest

And I can do nothing

Say nothing

Save mourn the history

That I could not prevent.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

9 Comments Add yours

  1. touching,sad and makes my heart weep,your words have that power because you really feel for them,great work Sum,honoured to be called your friend…love your heart and love you,hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yes, it makes me sad as well. We are sometimes so limited in what difference we can make. However, we also underestimate the difference we can make. Funny, how life is. Thank you Seema!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. so true Sum…and always a pleasure 🙂

        Like

  2. Wow… that was powerfully written. Talented!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you! So glad you liked it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sad poem,😟Lovely written

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Really great writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

