Morning Dreams on Gossamer Wings

birds02

 

There is nothing like

the silent pause before morning

where smoke rises from rooftops

frost shimmers on windowpane

and the silence speaks

an enchanting whisper

that only I can hear.

I have woken, with the hope

– to reach the distant shore

of my dreams

– to seek flight

upon the gentle breezes

that ease their way in

between crashing waves

across the deserted shoreline

I want to breathe purpose

and weave its gossamer wings

so that I too, may have chance

to fly.

 

(c) Sumyanna 2016

22 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    I wish there was a love button not just a like… words and picture are both wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow,so inspiring Sum,beautiful poetry,love it and love you,hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you sweet Seema!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. my pleasure 🙂

        Like

  3. What a wonderful poem. I tweeted this on @bakeandwrite.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you liked it. Thank you so much for sharing!

      Like

  4. bethanyk says:

    That was beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much Bethany!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. plainmama says:

    Gossamer wings. Love that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      🙂 Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. plainmama says:

        Your welcome and I hear you about some quiet time sans kids to write. That always is my hurdle, as well.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          May we always find time – there is beauty to be told 🙂

          Like

  6. Pingback: Covert Novelist
  7. How incredibly beautiful! OMG gorgeous writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you liked it. I forced myself to write today… Okay, I enjoyed it immensely 🙂 thank you!

      Like

      1. I have had to really dig deep to write the last 5 poems. Yours was exquisite beyond words. On many levels. OMG

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Yeah – sometimes it is not easy. I get into a rhythm where it is easier, but with everything keeping me busy, I hate to write unless I can wrap my mind around it in silence for a few moments. Oh, I know what silence is. Said no mom ever 🙂

          Like

          1. roflmao, so true, and in my case, gramma! I look after a 15, 14, 9 and 6 year old 8 days straight, and usually 1/2 of the 5 days off too, so I strive to write when they are wink wink sleeping, or in school, when I’m not cooking, cleaning, straightening rofl haha so yeah, not much “thought provoking time”

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Sumyanna says:

            Oh man. My kids keep telling me they are sending all their kids to be homeschooled by grandma. Just when I thought retirement was near 🙂 Nope! I guess it is better to be busy then bored. I know exactly what you mean.

            Like

Leave a Reply

