Daily Post Discover Challenge: Running With Scissors

This week’s Daily Post Discover Challenge asks us to go against the grain, which for me – can be rather easy.  I don’t know why, but I do enjoy trying to see things in a different light.  It makes life interesting!  Specifically, The Daily Post Challenge said: “Take a photo of something most folks find boring or unattractive, and show us its unappreciated beauty.”  Wow, talk about timing!  I’ve been working on this just recently 🙂

 

A few weeks ago, we bought a small digital microscope for a Science Fair Project.  As is with all things that enter this house – they can be a source of inspiration.  Since the moment we met, I have enjoyed using it to see a different view.  It is not to say that this microscope is in any way accurate, it isn’t.  It only has a magnification of 250 I believe.  However, it is not always the power with which you do something, but instead – the sensitivity.

 

So this week, I enjoin you to see scissors with a different view.  Pretty things, they may not be – but they definitely can be seen from a different angle.  To give you an idea of my original subject for the images, see the photo below.  I only used three pair of specialty scissors and one piece of paper.  The rest was just my chosen view.

 

 

subject

 

Usually when I do these photos, I keep some of them in their original form and others I try to see how they can be altered with photo editing software.  I guess this is my attempt to reach out to that artist within myself that quivers at the thought of holding a paintbrush or an artist’s pencil.  I absolutely love to create something new, and this is one of the ways I am learning how…  All I can hope, is that I can still continue to find new ways to see.

 

These are the two edited photos, mostly focusing on the paper itself (where I cut it).

 

The Last Kiss01-last-kiss-2

 

 

The Gilded Edge02-the-gilded-edge-2

 

The remaining photographs were unedited.  The only difference (from normal scissors) was that I chose to blur the photograph to emphasize some lines or yet others.  Sometimes I stayed focused and other times, I just enjoyed getting lost in the blur.  I guess I take advantage of the fact that the digital microscope is not as accurate.  I hope you can agree with me that either way, there is beauty to be found even in something as simple as paper and scissors…

 

 

It Cuts Deep03-it-cuts-deep-2

 

 

Polar Opposites04-polaropposites-2

 

 

Melted Crayon05-meltedcrayon-2

 

 

Dappled Blue06-dappledblue-2

 

 

Lost in the Shadows07-lostintheshadows-2

 

 

The Lines Have Blurred09-thelineshaveblurred-2

 

 

Almost Found10-almostfound-2

 

 

 

Gray at the Edges08-gray-2

 

 

Where Two Lines Meet11-wheretwolinesmeet-2

 

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to see my view!

 

(c) 2016 Sumyanna

 

Written for The Daily Post Discover Challenge: Conventional Wisdom

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Green Muse says:

    It Cuts Deep is soooo satisfying to look at! Love it! This post is very inspiring!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Awesome! Thanks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Very impressive, Sumyanna.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Robbie. 🙂

      Like

  3. Maggie C says:

    These are fantastic!! Great that you could take the theme of scissors and “run with it.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Love your comment 🙂 Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maggie C says:

        You’re welcome 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

