Finding Significance in Ten Random Words, A Poem and a Challenge

10words

 

For some years now, I have found that prompts are capable of elevating my poetry.  It is not to say that I can’t write without them – but prompts have this wonderful capability of making me step outside of my own shell and see through the eyes of others or see a scene I normally would not be focusing on.  I find great freedom, as well as growth, from this.  Having the prompt of the day for The Daily Post be the word ten, reminded me that I have not been doing these prompts often enough.

 

So, I give to you today my take on 10 random words, as well as a challenge – what can you come up with for those words?  For those of you who have not done this before, use a minimum of 3 words.  However, you will notice that the words shape the writing a lot more when you try to use all of them.  You do not have to write poetry, but can also feel free to write prose, a short story, really – anything.  I look forward to seeing what you can come up with.  Just share your link in the comments section and I will also add a link in the post itself.  Here’s the word list:

 

prompted10

 

And here’s where I found significance in 10 random words today:

 

Beyond Winter

 

You know,

The icy stare of winter

Shall soon diminish

It too, shall fade

Along with the declining reach

Of plump, gray clouds

That once crawled slowly

across the aching sky.

Soon, I shall be towering

Over the garden gates

Seeking the scent of lilacs,

The full blushed kiss

Of the delicate anemone

The humble grandeur

Of hyacinth and morning glory.

I want to witness

The early morning prayer

Of Virginia bluebells

And breathe

the soothing scent of Jasmine.

I want to be held captive

By the momentous craftsmanship

Of water lilies raising their weary heads,

Come morning.

There are moments like this,

Always in this season

Where the cold, the gray,

the infertile fields stretch forth

and I dream, I dream of this…

I beg the gardener

To plant the seed

To sew the rows

To carry this imperfect burden

Towards beauty’s release.

My soul demands this need

to listen to the silent whisper

of spring breezes

between the garden gates

where I hear the harmonious sound

of buzzing bees

and trace the elegant sashay

of butterfly and hummingbirds.

I hear their joyful noises

And I know this much is true

This is where my heart finds peace

This is where I belong.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Gorgeous image courtesy of Pixabay.com

 

Written for The Daily Post Prompt: ten

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Dennis Blue. says:

    This was truly inspiring
    Lovely poem
    Am gonna try it out

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Good to see you Dennis! Thank you. I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great poem, Sumyanna. “That once crawled slowly, across the aching sky.” – such a vivid picture!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Robbie. At some point in winter, I just thirst for Spring. We sometimes still have snow in April! Fortunately, today the sky is a brilliant blue. Less clouds means a happier me 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

