What Type of Home am I Leaving for My Children?

fontcandy-2

 

It’s not easy
Being beneath
The boot of someone
Perhaps, you have never known this
And for that, I am grateful
But in many cases
In many times
The crushing is not deserved
Nor is it just.
I remember the time
I held my son for my first time
Being kept in the hospital
After surgery
The nurse, it seems
Did not like my religion.
When I asked
That my son
Not be fed formula,
He returned to my beside
Belly full
Because she held
Power over me
And I could do nothing
And when I asked
Doubled over
With tears in my eyes
For pain medication
Which should have been given,
She refused
During the entire length of her shift.
We brave this you see,
Prejudice
We know – deep inside
That this is not the face
Of every person we meet
But we know the truths
Of inequality
And injustice
That sadly later –
Is blamed upon us
Because we seem detached
But it is often a result
Of what has been done to us
And sadly –
How many immigrants
Have known this?
They work hard
To make this place their home
They struggle
To bring life more beauty
To improve their communities
And for what result?
The door that slams
In your face
The outpouring of sentiment
That you do not belong
And it gives the ability
To those in power
To abuse those
Who are held beneath their boot
No matter whether
Injustice is deserved.
I cannot comprehend
The horrors
So many have witnessed
And the sanctuary
They sought here
Nor what pain they have endured
From their moment of arrival
Have you ever considered
How many are here
And yet only a repulsive few
Have committed atrocities
Unlawfully in our name?
Yet somehow –
They supposedly represent
The lot of us.
It worries me –
It worries me deeply
That the place we have called home
For more than 6 generations
Shall never be the same
And what type of home
Am I leaving
For my children after me?

© Sumyanna 2017

 

Image courtesy of Pixabay.com

19 Comments Add yours

  1. 7128788elf says:

    Great poem, and so heartfelt. It does seem that immigrants out there at the moment in particular are having a hard time. How petty can things get, not even doing their jobs correctly! I’m sure you will be leaving a great home behind that your children can build on and revere. Best wishes and blessings, Charles.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you. I hope that much is true, I just worry about their future here or anywhere really. It is never easy…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 7128788elf says:

        I think that the world has been given a huge destabilizing knock with the coming of President Trump, I think you are right it is bad everywhere, but of course it is near where you live that will be most of worry to you, but whatever happens, I do not think that there are many parents that spend the time and energy that you and your husband to keep the family unit together and happy, and helping your children through the trauma of dyslexia. I think they will always remember these difficult days with fond love. Charles.

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          I definitely agree with you. It’s as if there is a huge gray cloud right above our heads all the time. I don’t think I worry as much about what I give them, it is the world we leave behind for them when it is their turn to take the reigns. I fear that things could get worse and you hope and you hope and you hope they will not, but I never would have imagined what we are going through now, either. Thank you for your kind comments. Oh, I need to send you the documents too. I saw your comment and completely blacked it out. Will find it and send it soon. Thank you for reminding me.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. 7128788elf says:

            Yes unfortunately I agree that the world we will leave behind will be terrible, and it keeps getting worse. Or maybe this is just us stuck in end/beginning of the century insecurity (it seems to have happened throughout history). Maybe something good will grow out of this. (I hope!). I suppose we must just carry on trying to make the best of what there is, and strive towards improvement in society and the world generally. Best wishes and blessings, Charles.

            Like

          2. Sumyanna says:

            All we can do is our best, and hope that the world learns from our example. If enough of us do it – it can send ripples…

            Liked by 1 person

          3. 7128788elf says:

            Yes, and to write, so that people slowly start to pick up the ideas and follow through with them. Thanks for liking so much on my blog, especially Recreating dreams, which I really enjoyed writing, but only you and my friend local friend debby (on Facebook) have liked so far.

            Liked by 1 person

          4. Sumyanna says:

            So very true. I do believe using your voice is necessary. It does make a difference. Your welcome for the likes – they were well deserved. No worries about the number who “like” things. Early on, I would let it get me down. I have found that the best thing is to write for yourself (for me, I feel as if I will explode if I don’t get some time to write) and over time, people will come along that will enjoy it. I truly have enjoyed your words and am grateful that you share them. Keep up the good work!

            Liked by 1 person

          5. 7128788elf says:

            Thanks, I usually don’t have an audience in mind, I just write how it feels at that moment, but was a bit sad as I never had anything that had no likes or comments before, so it was great that suddenly there were two voices that I admire a lot who liked it.

            Liked by 1 person

          6. Sumyanna says:

            No, I know what you mean. I’ve seen your posts previously and they had gotten a lot of them. I was like “you go Charles!” Did not realize others did not see it. Over here in the US, the Superbowl is today (I think), which should tell you how much I enjoy watching sports 🙂 A lot of quiet voices this weekend because of it, I think.

            Liked by 1 person

          7. 7128788elf says:

            Yes< I watch sport a bit, but usually mis a lot because I do not know when it is on. But am quite happy with my wife, my books my blog, and blog friends and my writing, oh and work. Have a great week to come .

            Liked by 1 person

          8. Sumyanna says:

            You as well. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  2. 💜💜 a wonderful post 💜💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Liza!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. kStanlykSays says:

    i cry for what is happening to you and your families and our communities. this country was built by immigrants. i hope you are seeing the outpouring of love & support and that those who hate for no good reason, only for difference, do not represent the lot of us, either. we will win this one. the law and the legend that is america is on our side.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I worry for my self, sure – but truthfully I know that many are suffering much worse than I am. If I can look away at such a moment, I don’t know how I could ever stand to live with myself. I am truly touched to see the people standing up and saying this isn’t right, but I guess the sadness comes in knowing that this type of environment was allowed in the first place. It is utterly sad. I completely agree with you – history has shown that over time, things like this will not have the legs to stand on. Thank you for your kind words.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

