Why Even Bother to Speak? A Poem…

speak

 

I do it for me
for this is the way
I breathe life into my soul
it is not, for show
nor the ardent display
I just must… write
to breathe.
Though some may seek
satisfaction
in standing ovation
I don’t mind
the silent peep
the ardent whisper
of my words
for they lull me to sleep
just when I need it.
There is an aching
for peace
that stretches across my soul
and though unburdened by expectation
I shall scratch that itch
express the gaping wounds
and seek victory for the voiceless
I need to speak
for if I do not,
I fear the consequences
of silence.

(c) Sumyanna 2017

 

Wonderful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

15 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    Writing is almost like a therapy for me… emotions better out than bottled up within. Great poem!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I completely agree – and I think that’s the way it starts out for many of us. Now, I enjoy writing just for its own sake. Somehow I get really bothered if I haven’t written in a while. I guess it is a release 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely poem & lovely sentiment 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much. I appreciate it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely, lovely, lovely and the picture is such a good fit.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you liked it. I liked the boldness of it 🙂

      Like

  4. autumnbeats says:

    Nice! I’m the same! I’m no shakespeare nor do I aspire to be one but I enjoy writing 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Oh,you never know! 🙂 Keep at it, but definitely allow your enjoyment to be the most important aspect.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. plainmama says:

    I feel exactly the same way. I really have no writing aspirations, I just write to write.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad I am not alone. Sometimes it seems a bit cutthroat in places. There’s plenty of room for all to shine 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. plainmama says:

        Right. Just like love or happiness it’s unlimited. We don’t have to worry about it running out and be jealous of others. We should take joy when others experience live or happiness or success!

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          I truly believe that and have a hard time when I see people that will do just about anything to get ahead. We can all be successful together, besides there’s no better feeling than sharing 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. plainmama says:

            I am a true believer as well. I revel in others joys and successes and loves found. I know it is not sucking anything from my life or chances. It only raises us higher the more joy and love shared. And yes sharing is beautiful.

            Like

Leave a Reply

