Daily Post Prompt: Unrequited Love, A Poem

unrequitedlove
What is it in the scent of your skin
That brings to my heart madness?
For I writhe for opportune time
To brush my fingertips across your soul
But no, I must only touch you,
Gently with my eyes
For I could never dare
To own your heart.
Though you know me well,
I am unknown –
And though my heart
Does beat to serve you,
Your friendship is all
I shall ever own.
Your tongue
Your words
And all the contents
Of your breast
Do beseech my heart,
But to love you –
And you alone.
In my darkest hours,
Your existence
Sets my soul at rest
I am bewitched
By all your beauty speaks –
Your words
Your tongue
Your breath
I am but a man
Whose heart I do not own
And all the contents of your breast
Doth crush my heart, yet still complete me.

© Sumyanna 2016

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, this is so moving.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Robbie!

      Like

Leave a Reply

