Photography: Through the Lens of a Microscope (Dancing Lights)

Last night, after the younger kids fell asleep, I had the opportunity to work with the microscope again.  It is amazing to realize how different the images turn out, depending on time of day and the way the light reflects in the images.  I know – photographers are saying “duh” but for the layman, this is rather fascinating to me.  The beautiful thing is, while I am taking photographs of what I see, I actually get to see a slowed down version of the images.  I get to see them taking place and watching the amazing changes as they are taking place.  I find there is such a quiet peacefulness in that.

 

As I was looking through the photographs, my daughter said this group in particular looked like “dancing lights.”  So these are named in her honor.  I know it may seem strange to some, to share these or to bother taking them.  However, I think my largest purpose is to celebrate the beauty that I see.  In moments like these, where the news, the words spoken, and the stark landscape of winter – sometimes you just need to either seek out beauty, or make it yourself.  I guess you could say, this is my attempt.

 

All of these images are untouched.  I made them using our digital microscope, a desk lamp, and a simple liquid motion toy (hoping sometime soon to get another color than just red, but you know – you do with what you have) 🙂  I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed making them.  I hope to make many more…

 

 

win_20170201_00_04_11_pro-2

 

 

win_20170201_00_01_10_pro-2

 

win_20170201_00_04_07_pro-2

 

 

win_20170131_23_59_48_pro-2

 

 

win_20170201_00_04_08_pro-2

 

win_20170201_00_00_26_pro-2

 

win_20170201_00_04_10_pro-2

 

win_20170201_00_00_52_pro-2

 

 

win_20170201_00_04_12_pro-2

 

win_20170201_00_04_13_pro-2

5 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    Another interesting set of pictures… a few of them give me the feel of liquid chocolate, but maybe I am just hungry LOL!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much. I think the consistency is somewhat the same, so that is probably why – but hunger could be another reason! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, these are in fact dancing lights….

    Like

      1. You are most welcome….

        Like

Leave a Reply

