Photography: When Birds Return, Calling (Post #1)

Today was such an odd day.  The sky was gray with no stretch of blue in sight.  It was cold, and the day promised to get colder.  While drinking my morning coffee, I rose the moment I heard a familiar sound – the loud shout of Blue Jays.  It is something I haven’t heard in a while, but surely they would not be back yet, would they?

 

One quick look out the window and sure enough, there were many of them circling around the neighbor’s trees (they were eyeing the bird feeder).  I guess the neighbor had put some new peanuts in the feeder, because they kept swooping in and stealing them one by one.  As soon as one dove in, another took its place.  Birds from all over soon came to see what all the noise was.  We even had robins and several types of woodpeckers.

 

Can I say how glad I am that my camera is now fixed?  I ran and started snapping photos as fast as I could.  Here I was (in freezing weather) with the window open and my head popping out every time I saw another bird land.  The eerie thing is, the sounds outside were just like spring.  It’s like when you wake up in the morning to birdsong.  The backyard was full of sound and it was so lovely.  It almost seemed out of place, but far be it from me to complain.  I felt it was a gift.

 

img_9895-2

 

 

img_0016a-2

 

img_0056a-2

 

 

img_0175-2

 

Flying away gracefully…

 

img_0173-2

 

 

Today I realized we have a new addition to the neighborhood.  This little guy was just too adorable, and my – was he curious!  He kept sticking his whole body in there to the point I thought he would get stuck…

img_0001-2

 

I realized later, when he pulled back out with snow on his nose, that he was looking for something to drink.

img_0002-2

 

Just thought I’d share the little beauty I was able to witness in my own back yard.  It goes to show you that truly, you don’t need to go out seeking beauty, you just have to be more aware of its presence.

 

(c) Sumyanna 2017

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. beautiful pictures of birds and that little squirrel is soooo cuuute I want him for myself … Sum may I use your picture if ever I write a poem that needs pictures of birds,please 🙂 loved watching these…love and hugs and thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Hey Seema! So glad you like them. You will have to check out my latest photos as he popped up just at the right moment in one of my photographs. He is adorable 🙂 Oh, Seema – you know you don’t need to ask. You are family.

      Like

  2. Madraasi says:

    Loved reading this, even the pictures speaks a lot. Do stop by our site, hope you would like it. Stay connected with us. Happy Weekend Dear 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much – and I shall!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

