Photography: When Birds Return, Calling (Post #2)

As I mentioned the other day, we may have witnessed signs of an early Spring.  I say that, and you know – it then snows in April.  Always on your toes, I say!  Despite the freezing temperatures, my attention was drawn to the neighbors yard were I could hear Blue Jays cawing (for lack of a better word).  Usually that means one thing – they have claimed ownership of the bird feeder and are now warning everyone nearby to shove off.

 

Sure enough, I look outside and see an adorable baby squirrel (who is new to the neighborhood) sitting on the fence near the feeder.  Here’s a picture of the cute little guy:

 

img_9910-2

Essentially – he is no dummy.  He knows the birds raid the feeder, which is stock-full of peanuts.  As soon as they drop one, he is going to pick it up and run!  What was funny was to see those birds (especially the male) try to dive-bomb him for his efforts.  The squirrel would just cling to the fence and act like he didn’t notice 🙂

 

img_0059a-2

Today, this one seemed the ring leader.  Here, he is warning everyone to step back.  So funny to witness these subtle intricacies in nature.

 

There were anywhere from 8-10 of these birds, swooping and diving into the yard and stealing nuts.  Then, they’d swoop and dive out to bring them back to their nests, only to return…

 

img_0130-2

 

img_0074a-2

 

img_0035a-2

 

While they were gone, other brave little birds would step in and steal a peanut when the coast was clear…

img_0176-2

 

One last final goodbye…img_0080-2

 

Now I know there is a painted quality to these photographs, but I did not alter them at all.  As I mentioned before, my old camera wasn’t working and we just got a new (to me) used one.  As I often do, I forgot that it was not my old camera and started shooting without even looking at the settings.  Come to find out, they were set quite differently.

 

With that being said, I have to admit that I truly do like the dreamy quality of the photographs and will proudly display them.  To me, there’s something about all my mistakes with the camera that I really enjoy and I hope to make many more.  You know, cause that’s just the way I am 😉

 

(c) Sumyanna 2017

 

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. really beautiful and touch my heart for some reason,they do have this painted like look to them Sum,great pictures,again I envy you so much but i love you just as much,hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      That was what I was thinking 🙂 Oh, those mistakes can be pretty awesome with the right attitude… Glad I can still share my view with you in some way.

      Like

  2. Really wonderful photos! I love birds. These are so precious. Thank you from the depths of my heart for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      It has been so lonely in our backyard for a while now. Perhaps they just came because the neighbor filled up with bird food. It was such a joy!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on ravenhawks' magazine and commented:
    I have blue jays, woodpeckers, and squirrels at my feeders too but I am not calling for spring just yet. Thank you for sharing your photography it looks like it should be on a greeting card. It is very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Oh, it is only my hopeful heart 🙂 It was so good to see signs of life again! I know full well it will snow, and snow, and be cold… It was a nice reprieve through. I think the neighbor just filled the feeder 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know it is nice watching the birds come to the feeders. It is fun for my cats too they sit in the window and watch my feeders. But there will be more snow they say on Tuesday.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Yeah, the neighbor has cats, but the birds usually don’t notice unless they are outside. Does not look like snow here, thank goodness! The sky is just beautiful this morning. It is just my wishful side. I love snow and all, but grow tired from it rather quickly. Miss going outdoors… I think I need to find a winter hobby (but everyone in our house are wimpy in the cold) except for the two youngest, who could play out there for hours!

          Like

          1. Add a bird feeder, this and my dogs get me outside no matter the weather. Once I actually get outside it is not so bad.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Sumyanna says:

            I know what you mean – need to find reasons. It’s too beautiful to stay inside 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

