The Craft of Deception, a poem

 

help

 

I think many

Have mastered

The craft of deception.

Spoken with small voice,

“I’m okay”

“Everything’s fine”

“There’s nothing to worry about”

And we hide behind those lies

Knowing full well our heart aches.

Where did we learn

To tuck it all in

To breathe in all that pain

And refuse the exhale of relief?

When did we learn

To bear the shame of:

our victimization

injustices

and pain?

If I have learned anything

In this long stretch of time, called life

I have learned the ability

To unabashedly cry

To wear my scars

And know I am stronger

Because of them.

I will not hide

I will not fade into the background

Because all of us, deserve to shine.

I care –

I care deeply, my friend

And if I could give you anything,

I would hope to give you

The shoulder to cry on

That you needed

The permission

To shout

To cry

To fall to pieces,

But also know,

I will be here for you

When you finally decide

To pick yourself up.

Hand outstretched,

I shall be there

Whispering the words

“I believe in you”

“I believe in you”

“I believe in you”

Until you finally

Have the courage

To believe in yourself.

 

© Sumyanna 2017

 

 

Written for The Daily Post Prompt: craft

Image courtesy of Pixabay.com

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Virtual hug…..I love it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you! So glad you do 🙂

      Like

  2. beautiful poem and sentiment Sum,great write,great heart,love this,love and hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Seema. This is another new one 🙂

      Like

  3. 7128788elf says:

    Great poem, and sometimes we all need that friend that can help us believe in ourselves. What an inspiration, thanks and best wishes and blessings, Charles.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So very true – and as much as we need THEM, we also need to be THEM. I find we often make the mistake and realize our own need, but overlook the same need in others. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 7128788elf says:

        Yes absolutely, it is very easy to centre in on ones self and forget to help others who have the same problems.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Absolutely Incredible! WOW, just wow! I don’t have words for the beauty of this poem and the emotions it invoked. Your incredible, Sumyanna, I love the depth of feeling, care and emotion contained therein. It’s who you are!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much. I truly appreciate it!

      Like

      1. I couldn’t find a share button or I would have, sincerely.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          I think the button at the bottom of the post “press this” does that. I could be wrong. Still learning my way around 🙂

          Like

  5. This is a poem everyone can relate to. Beautifully written.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Robbie!

      Like

  6. Such beautiful poem,thank you for sharing it💞

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

