Portraits Poetry Series #47: Heart of the Prairie

Portraits Series

 

She stood still in the wind
Parasol held high
Gleaming brilliantly
In the morning sun
And sashes that loosely
Held her bonnet
Fluttered in the wind
Wisps of azure blue
That matched her eyes
Peeked beneath the clouds
And she blended well
In the beauty of the day
Summer smile
Drawn playfully
On her lips
And her eyes gleamed.
She was somewhere
Somewhere else
But she was also here
Dug deep
And wandering
Traveling the expansive
Prairie of her heart
She felt at peace here
She felt whole
And understood.
She paused and stared
at the flowing waves
Of summer grass
The cloud filled sky
The pecks of blue
That hid beneath them
And she smiled
She smiled deep
In recognition
And love
And she knew
She was home
The prairie
Had blossomed
And soon, so shall she.

© Sumyanna 2016

12 Comments Add yours

  1. oh so beautiful,it was like a movie playing in front of my eyes Sum,like I always say I will buy your book Sum,please get it published soon 🙂 love and hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Seema. Oh, if I ever do get to do that, I would be overjoyed 🙂

      Like

  2. Lovely! I pictured a young woman sitting in a field staring ahead, surrounded by what she loved.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Your writing is beautiful, clear and draws pictures easy to visualize, I love it so much.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Thank you so much. I started writing the “Portraits Series” because I wanted to strengthen my skills. I found that I love them often more than I expected. So glad you like them.

          Like

          1. Isn’t it wonderful when that happens?

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Sumyanna says:

            I definitely agree 🙂 A thing to cherish.

            Like

  3. This prairie girl loved this! ❤. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Smiling – thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The Pissy Poet says:

    I could absolutely picture her in my mind’s eye. Beautiful write!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So very glad! Thank you 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

