Photography: Gentle Beauty Lingers in Winter (Part #6)

This week we have been mostly stuck at home.  Fortunately, that’s not always a bad thing.  The kids are working on many different projects for school so I thought I’d give them uninterrupted time to focus.  I am also working on a project, which is taking quite a bit of time, so everyone (so far) is not feeling cabin fever.  The weather has been pretty nice this week, which is an added bonus.  The birds have come to visit, the squirrels are still finding us entertaining, and we get the added pleasure of doing schoolwork with the windows open (being romanced by the chirping of birds all day long).  All in all, it has been a good week.

 

I finally did get a new camera to replace the old one.  Seems she is mighty powerful.  I have tried and tried to no avail to take night photographs with the old one and they never turned out well enough to share.  This week, we took some amazing photos (and I will share them here and there).  Yesterday (since she is a new camera afterall – and because I love to make the neighbors wonder what the heck is that woman doing now?) I went outside and took photos of the bush in front of our house.  Most of the time (at this point in the season) all of the leaves would have been long gone, but this year they are still hanging on.  I decided that the best way to truly capture their essence was to try taking the photos in black and white.  I hope you enjoy!  Oh, and I have a special photo at the end…

 

 

eh-2

 

ehss-2

 

img_0291-2

 

img_0292-2

 

img_0309-2

 

img_0293-2

 

 

img_0306-2

 

 

img_0295-2

 

 

small

 

I think the amazing thing is – I am learning that I do not even have to go past my own yard to find beauty.  What is important, is the eyes with which you choose to see…

 

(c) Sumyanna 2017

 

Leave a Reply

