Because I Don’t Have a Photographic Memory (Part #22)

Things have grown a bit more quiet lately.  The birds have moved on and we only spy the squirrels intermittently throughout the day.  I miss the little bits of nature that sprout up in our backyard.  From the birds singing early in the morning and visiting the bird feeders, the squirrels chasing one another across the backyard fences, the beautiful flowers that bloom and the lush foliage of trees that fill our backyard landscape.  I miss tracing the bits of sunlight that streams through the leaves and hiding beneath the shade of trees.

 

So, to fill that emptiness I feel, because yes – I do (at some point) get exhausted by winters slow crawl forward, I shall share other photos from our recent trips to the gardens.  May they fill your day with sunlight, as they have mine 🙂

 

img_1852-2

 

img_1882-2

 

img_1910-2

 

img_1915-2

 

img_1940-2

 

img_1829-2

 

img_2026-2

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Isabel Caves says:

    I love the second photo. It is interesting and ethereal…I’ve never seen anything like it before. Do you know what this plant is called

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I believe they are milkweed pods that opened up. I’m not the best at naming flowers or plants, but I definitely appreciate them. Hoping to learn more though – as they are beautiful!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Such pretty pictures. You have a real talent.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you for saying so! So glad you like them. I don’t know why I like taking pictures so much, I just do!

      Like

      1. I used to, was a passion and joy for me as well.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Is it your vision that makes it difficult to still do so? I think I remember you mentioning that. It has to be an adjustment. At this point, I truly feel grumpy if I don’t get out into nature often enough. It is the main way I release stress. Just something about the air, the view, and the lack of reminder of things left undone 🙂

          Like

          1. It is for me as well. Yes, I have debilitating arthritus, both ankles, both hips, my back and wrists. As well, I am now legally blind (with glasses) my type is 1/2 inch in size on a good day. I have inoperable cataracts due to the previous work place related damage to my eyes. It’s frustrating at best since I was an artist and photographer with some acclaim, so in other words a few others liked what I did. Now I can’t even put my own socks on so the adjustment continues. ah well, such is life, my life up to this point at any rate.

            Like

          2. Sumyanna says:

            Yes, I just read on your latest blog post about the accident. It must have been an extremely difficult thing to deal with. My heart goes out to you, not only for what you have endured, but also the fact that you cannot read suffering in your lines. You bravely forge forward. Your attitude is truly to be commended. I cannot imaging how hard it is to lose the things you love. Have you been able to find ways to bring your love of art into your life? I know you are really enjoying you blog – which is a blessing. It is a gift to be able to express yourself.

            Like

          3. I used to spend hours on the net looking at art. Fortunately, my son has made improvements to my comp that mean I can increase the size of items on the screen and I have a tv wall mounted whatever I use as a monitor which helps. I’m a little more resigned to the losses but I won’t deny it’s been incredibly difficult and on occasion I want to scream in frustration. More than that I try to savour every moment of sight so that as long as I can, I will enjoy and place into memory everything I see. memory don’t fail me now! snicker snicker. Yes, blogging has become exceedingly important. I’ve met wonderful people here. You top the list and there are many others that I look forward to daily. Im into counting my blessings which makes the pain and the losses endurable if nothing else.

            Liked by 1 person

          4. Sumyanna says:

            Sounds like you have raised a wonderful son. That is such a blessing. I know what you mean – I guess we all have our struggles. I found out a few years ago that I could not eat certain foods as they caused me to feel like I could not breathe. Odd, I know. I am not allergic to them, but sensitive to them. I don’t know how much more sensitive you have to be to be considered allergic! I have had to drastically alter the foods I eat and it will never change. I practically cannot eat out at all. Even if I go to a gluten free place, there are other things I cannot eat and they are assumed to be healthy (not allergens). On a daily basis, I am fine sacrificing – but it does make life difficult. Every thing, I guess, is a both a blessing and a curse. Our attitude determines how we look at it. I remember being amazed at the story about Monet. They said that cataracts caused his blurry style of painting – because it was the way he saw things. To think that such amazing beauty was caused by difficulty! Hugs from my end – whenever you feel the need to scream. I know exactly what you mean. No, hopefully your memory shall remain strong 🙂 You are as much of a blessing as you feel others have been. Your presence is greatly appreciated and your voice is truly beautiful.

            Like

          5. That is the dearest thing anyone could say. I am in a mini portion of life where being needed has become important, exceedingly so, so thank you. My daughter is allergic to many things, she will literally die…fish, shellfish, (all of us penecilan) my son, can’t have anything all the sulphas, anything to heal infection my daughter is allergic to rice, cucumber, eggs dairy, the list goes on. I know how you suffer with that especially eating out. One day I should write a book on the horror that was my life. The true lining in the cloud has been my children and grands and now blogging and meeting you. So thank you for being there, for checking in to say hi and most of all for sharing. Your the reason I’m here (you and so many others I count on daily). xoxoxo

            Liked by 1 person

          6. Sumyanna says:

            Yes, I am also having issues with all starches (potatoes, rice), sugar, corn, soy, gluten, dairy, and I’m sure I am forgetting something 🙂 After not eating them, my health improved greatly. I have no desire to eat any of those things any more, but it can be frustrating because people don’t understand you can’t have these things. No eating out, no eating over someone’s house… It has been a struggle to make foods that we can eat – as things like rice or bread seem to have become an important part of the American diet 🙂 I know how hard it must be for your family. Oh, do I know…

            I seriously would be one to encourage you to write your story. I have already learned fascinating aspects of your life that have me wanting to ask more. That is the best thing you could hope for – an interesting story. Besides that, I really do believe that if we can take our life and make our views, thoughts, and experiences help others who may struggle similarly (or differently – because sometimes seeing others overcome helps greatly) then our pain has not been in vain. I feel bad because the other day I looked at how many posts of yours I have missed and I have some catching up to do. I am creating a manuscript of my poetry for a competition and it is a lot of work. I have posted (because I worry people would lose interest if I was away) but I have not read as much. Seriously – many apologies for that, but know that I have all of the posts you have made saved for reading later 🙂 Keep up the beautiful work you are doing and know it makes a huge difference.

            Like

          7. Oh, thank you so very very much. I read yours as soon as they pop up. You are a beautiful writer and appreciated. I love what you write it is valuable, insightful, funny, touching and very meaningful so… I love to read your work. As for writing my life, I doubt I could, it’s too freshly painful, I’d have to have someone else do it. It may be cathartic to do so, but I’m not sure I could handle the sum of it. I laughingly told my son it would be a “horror” story. mwhahaha which others may find too overwhelming to read. It was quite beyond the beyond to have lived that’s for sure.

            Liked by 1 person

          8. Sumyanna says:

            Thank you so very much. So sweet of you to say 🙂 I completely understand how you feel about writing your life story. There are things I also would rather not re-imagine, they are just too painful. It would not be easy at all. One lesson to realize – live is never easy 🙂

            Like

          9. I memorize everything and log into memory (memory dont fail me now) and I have a 30 something tv mounted on the wall I use. My son is a godsend in that he’s fixed everything so it’s large ok LARGE 1 inch large so I can see . I used to spend hours on the net per day staring at photography and art and listening to music. More importantly I’ve found You and this incredibly amazing community of writers who share with me. I love it. I count on it daily. I look forward to it daily too.

            Liked by 1 person

          10. Sumyanna says:

            I know exactly what you mean – having this blog has allowed me to meet such amazing people. It is truly a blessing. And yes, I definitely count you at the top of that list 🙂

            Like

          11. Awe, thank you so very much.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. I absolutely love your photos. Very beautiful! I love taking pictures of flowers but your photos are beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much. I only started recently, but I enjoy it immensely. It gives me something creative to do on days when I just can’t spend a lot of time doing other things 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They ae beautiful I love seeing them! =)

        Like

Leave a Reply

