We are Aching for Change, a poem

achingforchange

 

We tarry the pathways of living,

stooped shoulders

unblinking eyes

while bright lights emanate

from hand-held screens

and somehow, we feel sheltered.

It is not without consequence –

for we barely realize,

that history is being written

with every step

and every single word.

We now

find new ways

of communication.

We blaze the scene

in only 140 characters.

So we must now

jump fast the punchline

and leave behind

formalities of the past.

We have celebrated

the death

of common courtesy

as slurs become

the native tongue

and falsehoods

are the new reality.

This is not the America I have known,

it is definitely not

the one that I grew up in,

where we were sheltered

by the principles of

respect

and in our growing pains

I had hoped

we had learned equality.

How could we have unlearned

all of her history?

How could we have forgotten

all of her tears?

How can we look back

at all we have accomplished

and slowly undo them

one by one?

We ache not,

at the consequence.

We study history

but barely realize,

that someday-

our words

our thoughts

and our actions

will be remembered.

How many of us,

want this to be

our final narrative?

 

© Sumyanna 2017

 

Written for The Daily Post Prompt: slur

Wonderful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Iriz Chan says:

    Such a gift. Combining great images with great words.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you – I have been able to find some amazing images that seem to just fit perfectly with the poems 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, so powerful. And your descriptions had me guessing–like I was mentally trying to put a puzzle together…
    “while bright lights emanate from hand-held screens” that’s our phones, I’m guessing.
    And my personal favorite is “We blaze the scene in only 140 characters. So we must now jump fast the punchline” I’m pretty sure that’s twitter 😁
    Thank you for writing this piece. I felt your honesty as well as an ache for change. ❤
    -Beatrice

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yes, all great guesses! Sorry, I sometimes find it more poetry to be less straight to the point 🙂 Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think it’s great! Keeps your readers wondering 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Sumyanna says:

      I hope you know I haven’t forgotten your request for the blog award. I’ve been super busy as of late, but things are quieting down a little. I am hoping to do so soon. I haven’t uploaded you message to me about it because if I do – I will lost it and most likely forget. Sorry!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, hahaha! No worries! It’s no problem at all 😊

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Oh, I felt bad that I hadn’t replied yet!

          Liked by 1 person

  3. A very powerful post, Sumyanna.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Robbie. I sincerely appreciate it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

