Stormy Disposition, a poem

curly

 

She had a stormy disposition
wrought with curls,
her head bent low
each time they’d scold
and each time she’d hold
onto their promises
but she found out early
that life was stormy
unpredictable –
and the only thing
she could predict
was that no one
understood her ways.
Life gave her an education
wrapped in sorrow
she was a blind, beautiful fool
who believed that everyone
was the same inside
everyone cared
everyone shared
the same common goal
and did not mind
to hold out their hand
to help their fellow man.
She found everyone –
in a hurry
their uppity glances
only attuned to those who
walked the same
talked the same
looked the same
coordinated agendas
with matching smiles
but she learned
an incredible lesson
among the bitter tears
the tangy taste of defeat
she learned to
get back up again
to disregard
the sad state
of her fellow man
to lend a smile
despite their irate glances
to lend a hand
to the frail and weak
she learned
never to wait for opportunity
never to wait for other’s advances
but to try –
and to try
and to try again
to grow the seed of kindness
with her very own hands.

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

8 Comments Add yours

  1. 7128788elf says:

    This is a beautiful poem, it brought tears to my eyes and then a warmth and happiness. Maybe it reminded me so much of my journey, which today stretched into the beginning of my 60th year! Even my hair was curly back in those days. Best wishes and blessings, Charles.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      It would not be that surprising. It is a poem wrapped around both my experiences and also my youngest daughter (who had Dyslexia severely). She is the stubborn curly haired one. I think we all carry something similar in our experiences though, but perhaps some of us feel it more deeply.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 7128788elf says:

        Yes, I think similar experiences would be strongly felt, and maybe by others who had other types of sadness and trouble help deep inside, and then slowly came out to help others, some of my friends who suffered from anorexia and bulimia, or were beaten up by their then boyfriends or even raped might feel the power of this poem too.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          It is truly sad to think that so many know of suffering. It is part of life, I guess – but when it is done by other’s hands, it is harder to fathom. I guess that is what binds us together really – our understanding of the basics like love and also suffering…

          Like

          1. 7128788elf says:

            Yes, though sometimes I wonder in this often violent and struggling world.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. I really like your blog so I have nominated you for the Blogger recognition award at this link https://robbiesinspiration.wordpress.com/2017/02/25/blogger-recognition-award/. I have never participated in an award like this before but it seems like a fun idea. I hope you decide to participate.

    Like

  3. A very intense poem, Sumyanna.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Robbie 🙂 I saw your message about the award. I don’t want to respond, only because I know I will lose it. I am finishing up a project and then I will look into it 🙂 It is an honor coming from such a sweet and talented lady.

      Like

Leave a Reply

