Photography: Gentle Beauty Lingers in Winter (Part #7)

Not that long ago, we went to the gardens and I have found her lingering between two seasons.  By no means is winter over, but there is already new growth.  It is a blessing to have seen it, because I really do start to miss spring horribly as winter stretches on and on.  I know, as a child I would have loved snow, especially because of the many snow days we had.  I guess as you get older, you have a different view.  Now, I have to go shovel, walk around in slush, take the chance of slipping on the ice, freezing my butt off, etc.  I think I am just as creative in not liking the cold as I am in loving spring and summer 🙂

 

Anyway, as I am still learning about my camera, I thought I would try taking some black and white photos.  Essentially, I took a photo in color and then tried to see if my view also worked in black and white.  It is a work in progress, but I have learned that some things just don’t translate as well to black and white and some things just sing more loudly when captured that way.  At some point, I hope to know when to use which one… but that is probably a while off.  I hope you enjoy the images 🙂

 

We found this little lady licking the bark on the tree.  She seems to be as curious about us as we were about what she was doing…img_4759-3

 

img_4853-2

 

img_4877-2

 

img_4880-2

 

img_4892-2

 

img_4935-2

 

img_4945-2

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Silas says:

    Nice! (I’m sorry if it seems like I’m stalking your blog, but the photography posts are just amazing)
    I always find black and white shots rather mysterious. They are very thought provoking and if captured in the correct way they can speak more than what colored shots may do. Well that’s my opinion.
    And again nice shots. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      No worries – I’m thankful you came to visit 🙂 I think I agree with you. There is just something about them that speaks a little bit louder than color images. I’m still learning as I do think there is a difference in shooting them compared to color photos. Thank you!

      Like

  2. The Pissy Poet says:

    So lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

