Daily Post Photography Challenge: Finding the Unexpected

I know most people have posted roads taken, wonders found in roadside beauty, and seriously, if it weren’t so cold lately, I probably would have been out there with them!  There are so many amazing wonders to behold outdoors and I just can’t wait until spring comes so I can go exploring.

 

These past few years made it harder to go hiking (we used to go every single weekend) but we had little ones in tow.  One was carried in a backpack, but became too heavy and would cry every few steps to be carried.  So yeah, parenthood can put a dent in your plans.  Fortunately, our youngest has grown quite a bit and he is looking forward to the adventures now as much as we are.  So hopefully I will be able to share photos with you of this beautiful place we call home.

 

With that in mind – I share with you pictures from The Road Taken.   This was the photography prompt on The Daily Post.  We were asked to share something that surprised us or delighted us on the road taken.  For me, I think of every opportunity that raises its head to be a road taken, a choice to be made.  I kind of like to think of it in terms of…

 

“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,  I took the one less traveled by.  And that has made all the difference”   – Robert Frost

 

I do tend to often think more poetically about things, I guess.  It makes me wonder how I ever got through school.  A road, you say?

 

So anyway, yesterday, in between lessons in Computer Science and Algebra with different kids, I got the chance to pull out my ever-handy microscope.  I was curious to see what would happen if you looked at bubbles up close.  I added a little soap and water, and found these amazing photo opportunities.  Oh yes, I think I will be doing this one again!

 

I now share with you the road I chose to take, and I do hope you enjoy the beautiful view!

 

win_20170302_10_10_31_pro-2

 

win_20170302_10_24_58_pro-2

 

win_20170302_10_32_50_pro-2

 

win_20170302_10_33_35_pro-2

 

win_20170302_10_34_45_pro-2

 

win_20170302_10_35_35_pro-2

 

win_20170302_10_35_51_pro-2

 

win_20170302_10_42_14_pro-2

 

win_20170302_11_03_30_pro-2

 

win_20170302_11_07_09_pro-2

 

win_20170302_11_10_18_pro-2

 

Submitted for The Daily Post Photography Prompt: The Road Taken

 

Other amazing posts for this prompt:

Adrian Evans Photography

Travels and Trifles

Everyday Strange

Beyond the Window Box

The Life of Piyumi

Murtagh’s Meadow

A Momma’s View

Margaret Writes about Life and Everything Else

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    These are by far some of my favorites you have done… BEAUTIFUL!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yes – they are mine as well. I am really enjoying these the most, because they are unpredictable.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. amommasview says:

    This is simply stunning! So very beautiful and such a great idea for this challenge. I also love what you wrote and I can so relate to what you said about the kids in tow… We have now reached the point where they happily come along and enjoy the hikes and road trips we take. But we have also reached the point where I already start to wonder for how long. Both of them in their double digits… who knows for how long they will enjoy joining us on our little adventures and when they will start heading out to find their own.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you – so glad you liked it 🙂 I am seriously counting the days till we can go hiking. I have missed it since the birth of my youngest. We have gone off and on, but it’s not the same. I don’t know if my kids will ever get tired of going. They are in love with photography as well, so that helps. They are always snapping photos and day is yelling to hurry up or we will leave them 🙂 Oh, the troubles I get started!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. amommasview says:

        Enjoy those moments. I found that I always rushed. But somehow they slow me down and it’s a good thing. You suddenly see things so differently because they see it differently. They see more, they discover things we do not see any longer. And because of the kids we do see the little things again…

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Yes, I know exactly what you mean. I think they are the reason I see more – they keep me more in touch with what we normally miss 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Murtagh's Meadow says:

    Great take on challenge, love the colours

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

