Because I Don’t Have a Photographic Memory (Part #26)

on

Yesterday, I read someone’s poem that just reminded me of the ocean.  It has been a while since I have been there.  This year, instead of going during winter break, we chose to stay home and lay hardwood floors.  I’m not going to complain there – it was a huge task and it really looks lovely now.  However, as the year drags on toward summer, I miss that the ocean hasn’t spoken to my soul.  I miss the gentle lapping waves, the setting sun, the smell of ocean air…

 

I decided to reminisce, and how to better do that than go through my old photos?  So, I thought I’d share some photographs I have taken from our trip last year to California.  It was winter, but don’t worry – her beauty sings all times of the year.  The photos were all taken on my cell phone.  Enjoy!

 

sight_2015_12_27_165419_427-2

 

wp_20151221_14_00_09_pro-2

 

wp_20151221_14_31_29_pro-2

 

wp_20151226_16_05_13_pro-2

 

wp_20151226_16_13_14_pro-2

 

sight_2015_12_27_165540_300-2

 

wp_20151226_16_49_37_pro-2

 

wp_20151227_16_07_44_pro-2

18 Comments Add yours

  1. selnaak says:

    These pictures are really amazing and beautiful! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you liked them. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. selnaak says:

        You’re welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Irene says:

    Stunning photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you like them. Thank you!

      Like

  3. Reblogged this on ravenhawks' magazine and commented:
    So Beautiful, thank you for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Isabel Caves says:

    Amazing photos! My favourites are the 4th and 5th.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yes, they were lovely. Seeing these images (almost) takes me right there 🙂 Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Such lovely photos. I do wish I had an ocean nearby…

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      You are not alone… We have to drive quite a long way to get there. Nothing like a couple days packed in the car with all the kids 🙂 Actually, we don’t mind the road trips. The kids love to see different places. Every winter I get that ache to be there again…

      Like

  6. OMG Not only are the photos spectacular!!!!! but I loved the descriptive talent you write with, you made laying floors sound grand (that isn’t easy to do) and I loved “her beauty sings all year” Gorgeous! Thank you.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you. Oh my goodness – I did not know how much I missed it till I saw these photos. Heartbroken, but hopeful we will go there soon 🙂 The laying of floors wasn’t that bad, but a lot of work. From dragging all the furniture out,tearing out carpets, etc., etc. However, every time I go in those rooms I am so grateful we took the time. We still have to do the master bedroom. I’ve been putting it off (for my own sanity) 🙂 Will probably do it this summer sometime. We have spring break, but I’m not telling my husband the dates in case he wants to do floors then… ha ha. I need my “me time.” So glad you liked these. My heart is there, splashing against the waves and waiting for my body to return…

      Like

      1. Your words are so poetic and paint such delightful pictures. I love reading your prose very much. We will be ripping up carpet and laying fur floors soon. Ugh. Not me thank goodness but…it will affect me. We are laying heated tiles in the bathroom sometime this year. Not sure what that will entail, but if it means warm feet, I’m in.lol

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Oh thanks! As for the fur floors – I have never heard of that before. I guess in the realm of parenting, it would not be recommended 🙂 Sounds glorious though! I am sure it will be quite a bit of work – even if you aren’t doing it. To have to move everything! Warm feet is something to be treasured, for sure. I have grown to like the cold less and less…

          Like

          1. My son-in-law owns a small sawmill and mills it himself. It should be a great addition to their front room.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Sumyanna says:

            I have to say I had to look that one up. I seriously have never see it before. It looks cozy and lovely all rolled into one! That is amazing that he makes them himself. It will look gorgeous!

            Like

          3. Not sure what colour they will stain it, but they are beautiful floors. So I’m sure it will be lovely.

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

