Star Swept, a poem

UtahParksunset

 

A sunset

is a sunset

rising over the horizon.

Pink edges, purple clouds

smudged across the skyline

but I –

I ache to be

the setting sun

to be the warmth, the glow

the beauty streaked

the colors, deep with meaning.

I want to stretch my hand

touch the stars on a summer’s evening

and sleep within the depths of darkness,

where my dreams become the stars

lighting the path of wandering souls.

I want to be the shadows,

where hidden figures seek solace

where they seek sleep

beneath the light of a full moon.

They smile as they rest

they toss and turn

and I too, across the sky

nap gently, as the stars sway

beneath the weight of a gentle wind.

 

© Sumyanna 2017

 

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautifully poetic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Phyllis! I hope you are doing well 🙂

      Like

      1. Im fine, thank you, how are you? I had a b day yesterday and enjoyed a lovely dinner with my kids and grandkids. Totally awesome.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          We are doing good, just things are stressful with school. After next week it is spring break! I am seriously counting the seconds… Are we there yet?!? Oh, your evening sounds lovely! I hope they gave you lots of hugs and kisses 🙂 It’s the best part.

          Like

  2. Sounds like a fairy tale:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

