Abstract Vision, a poem

Abstract

 

I think sometimes,

we hold in our hands

an abstract view of ourselves

of who we should be,

not of who we are.

We chastise ourselves

for imperfections

without realizing

their implication –

to be imperfect

and lacking

can ache that much more

to be.

I want . . .

I desire . . .

and I allow

my imperfections to sing,

not that their song

is more melodious,

but because I want to be me

with all of my being.

I want to ravel

and unravel, layer by layer

all the mistakes

that have held me down

and learn to fly free of them.

Free of shame

free of feeling

incomplete,

I want to sing

beneath the eaves

of tomorrow’s hopefulness

and I hope that someday,

someone will tell me

how beautiful I sing.

 

© Sumyanna 2017

 

Written for The Daily Post Prompt: abstract

Parts of the image courtesy of Pixabay.com

11 Comments Add yours

  1. 7128788elf says:

    Yes, how beautifully and exquisitely you sing, living this poem to its fullest. I lag miles behind slowly dragging out the bass line, letting me be afraid of me, letting me misunderstand me. You seem to have really succeeded so well in coming to terms with yourself, your muse, and your family. One day I will get there, but must pick up a lot of wisdom along the way. Love the picture as well as the poem. Best wishes and blessings, Charles.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Charles. I was only writing for the prompt, but in every write there is a piece of me there. I found the ending fitting, as a question perhaps that all of us ask ourselves. You will get there – it just takes time. It also matters the obstacles we have had to overcome. I trust you will 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 7128788elf says:

        One day, yes, I think I grow stronger each day, and hopefully wiser too!

        Like

  2. A very meaningful poem. I really enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad – thank you Robbie!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’d say you sing beautifully right now! Every verse, all your prose, in every way they sing a delightful melodic tune, you’ve only to listen. Your song is already in your heart and you share happily, daily.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you sweet Phyllis 🙂

      Like

  4. Love the start…I think sometimes,
    we hold in our hands
    an abstract view of ourselves
    of who we should be,
    not of who we are.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

