Until There’s Nothing Left to Breathe, a poem

NothingLeft

 

I find it confusing

that the world does not

sigh with the passing

of light to darkness

That one rarely whispers

at the beauty of her sunsets

the luminescent dance

across the horizon at daybreak.

I want to drink in

the colors

rippling on the passing waves,

where the ocean reaches

toward its own mirage

a silent, wandering, watery desert

take me home…

I want to drink in

the rising ocean

of cloudless sky

to dip my toes

in the passing shades

of color

tripping in the wind

as night begins her silent call

in gentle song.

I want to drink in

the moonlit shadows

dancing on forgotten fields

to silently string a ray of hope

across the starry sky

I want to inhale

the essence of her beauty

every atom

every molecule

every whispered breath

held beneath my tongue

savored

sung out

arising in her glory,

but many will not notice

many will not notice

until there is nothing

left to breathe.

 

Both words & Image: © Sumyanna 2017

15 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    “…to dip my toes in the passing shades of color tripping in the wind…” such rich words, I love this poem!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      That was my favorite part 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear friend,

    Excellent – I felt like in a land where dreams take shape.
    Really nice!

    All good wishes
    Didi

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you, so glad you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautifully expressed! ❤. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Like

  4. KysColourLover says:

    Reblogged this on Mysterious Ky Deep Thoughts and commented:
    Reblogged from sumyannawrites Love this Poem.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. KysColourLover says:

        No worries 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. OMG that was exquisitely beautiful. You painted so many pictures in my mind. Humbly, I thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you – sometimes I just wanna burst 🙂 I think I’m still in touch with my inner child 🙂 So glad you liked it!

      Like

      1. It’s awesome your in touch with her. She’s awesome, and so are you! Your writing speaks volumes on so many levels!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Thank you Phyllis. So sweet of you 🙂 Hugs…

          Like

          1. You deserve massive hugs and a smooch on the cheek, so here they come! Smooch and hug

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Sumyanna says:

            Gladly accepted 🙂

            Like

Leave a Reply

