Displeasure at Winter’s Insistence to Stay

Winter

 

I have seen
shades of withering gray
streak across the temperamental skyline.
The shattered blue,
now just a figment of my imagination
momentarily trickled in on the sidelines
to tease a weary heart.
The winds have come again
tearing across the naked branches of yesterday’s longing
the promise of tomorrow, now soon forgot.
The day is long and cold and moans for significance
and I am powerless to quiet her fears,
so I just listen to her silent screams
as the trees lean
and darker clouds move in.
I cannot help but wonder,
how do I shake the winter from my bones
how long must I forget the fragrant face of sun
I long for her touch, but it avails me nothing.

© Sumyanna 2017

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

Leave a Reply

