Loving You is an Instinct, a poem

LovingYou (4)



It is an instinct,

I think –

to love you the way I do

in stolen moments,

I have memorized

the curve of your smiles

the trace of your faces

and I hold them in my heart,

compartmentalized

with all the reasons

I love you,

and the memories we have shared.

And it almost seems

as if not one moment existed

before your first cries

and because of you,

I have never known unhappiness.

It is not that I haven’t been given

plenty reasons to cry

for I – like many,

have borne my scars,

but in retrospect

it led me to this moment

it led me to you –

my children

who brighten my every day.

Creators of my ever-growing smile,

you have breathed life

into this old soul of mine

and though my path

was often paved with loneliness

you have left me unable to remember

the pain.


 

© Sumyanna 2017

 

For my children, who give me every reason to believe in the potential of humanity.  May we learn to listen to them more, be with them more, and realize that even they have something they can teach us.  Many, many things…



 

Written for The Daily Post Prompt: instinct

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

13 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    This was wonderful!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you – the are often the cause of me opening my eyes more to the world around me. My inspiration 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re most welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. beautiful dedication….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

