Be Yourself & Broken Promises, a poem

FontCandy (13)

 

Misunderstanding
fills my veins
my alabaster skin
traces the lonely paths
and colorless promises spoken.
What is it –
that threatens them so?
For me to wear
my own beauty well
to be unafraid
to free my soul
to breathe with open arms
and they strive to change me
they strive to detain me
box me in
and color their own definitions
upon my unusual skin.
Freedom speaks here
in silent mocking whispers
be yourself –
be yourself –
as long as you’re like me.

 

© Sumyanna 2017

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

Leave a Reply

