What I Don’t Know, a poem

stars

 

I don’t know
when I shall take
my last breath
nor where I shall be
at that very moment,
but I do know
that I shall hold dear
the love that I have known
the lengths that I have grown
and the kindness that I have witnessed.
It is a blessing to have seen
the rising of the sun
the passing of my days
and the beauty between
her gentle rise and glorious descent.
I shall remember
the flowering rose bushes
the leaning trees
the starlit glow that stretches
across aching skies
for they have changed
the way I truly see.

© Sumyanna 2017

Written for the prompt: “Write what you don’t know.”

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pat says:

    This is really beautiful. You brought me joy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So very glad. Thank you Pat!

      Like

Leave a Reply

