Words, Laced Together – Create a Song

neversleep



An interesting set of rules started these lines. Write a poem, starting with one word, the next line contains two and so on.   I thought I would see how high I could go.  Well, I probably could have gone higher – but I like the results.


Words
fell down
from my tongue
in roaring, rippling torrents
and the language swelled longingly.
Was it enough to write down
to sing the passage of time spent
would it make a difference in footsteps taken
it is a question as old as time itself
did I, do I, will I ever seem to matter
and breaths between the silence, allow my fears to linger still
it is enough to hold on to hope, for therein – promise lives.



© Sumyanna 2017



If anyone is interesting in taking up this idea, please share your results.  I found this prompt in one of my prompt books and thought I’d share.  I would love to see what you make of it!



Oh – and about the picture.  Found it on Pixabay.com.  Don’t care how old you are, you always have to hold on to your youthful spirit 😉

5 Comments Add yours

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Leigha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. bjwany says:

    Great idea! I’ll try this!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thanks. Please leave a link if you do – I don’t mind sharing 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

