Portraits Poetry #52: I Have Read Volumes

Portraits Series

I have read volumes
I have lived volumes
and I have many volumes
left to tell
for the lines have yet been written
and I hold the pen
I hold the pen
poised midair
ready to write
and what –
what will I write today
what tales shall I sew
and sometimes,
upon reflection
which tales
shall I replay
for life is a poem
waiting to be written
shall it rhyme
or slide along in free verse
will the words taste as sweet
once written
or shall they burn
way after the story is told
some days I just don’t know
my pen is raised
ready to write
and my only hope
is to make the poem my own.

(c) Sumyanna 2016

Leave a Reply

