Insolent Tongue, a poem

I was experimenting with poetry lately (because yes, I actually have some free time 🙂 and came up with this poem.  The first line consists of one word, the next contains two, and so on up to line 7.  Then, you reverse the poem and thankfully (in this one) the meaning is actually different in places which makes it all the more fun.  This is not a “real” poetry form that anyone is doing, but just something I came up with on my own.

 

Insolent

 

Twist
the words.
Let them spill
from your insolent tongue.
I have exhausted my attempts
to understand your ire, your discontent.
You have left me speechless, hopeless, wandering.

You have left me speechless, hopeless, wandering
to understand your ire, your discontent,
I have exhausted my attempts.
From your insolent tongue,
let them spill –
the words
twist.

© Sumyanna 2017
Wonderful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

6 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    I like this “style” of writing. Great poem!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thanks 🙂 I finally broke down and named it. It is tricky to do and I think that’s why I enjoy it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        I could do it one direction, but to make it make sense backwards has to be hard. I guess a challenge now and then is good for us though!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Yes, that is the hard part 🙂 I can easily make it go the first time but when it twists often the verb tense does not match, etc. I am learning though 🙂

          Like

  2. EricWK says:

    This is a very good poetic prototype you have created. Enjoyed this. It works! (An ‘inclined reflectance’ poem?)

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you. It is close. I ended up calling it a Reflective Staircase poem. I figure it is easier to name it if I am going to write others. It is challenging, but also fun.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

