Awaiting Spring Rain, a poem

Another one of my experimental poems.  I like to think of these as Reflective Staircase Poems.  Yep, I broke down and game them a name 🙂  Essentially, the first line starts with one word, the second line has two… and so on.  After line seven, you flip the poem – but it should make sense in doing so.  I’ve actually enjoyed these although I do have to say, sometimes my brain does hurt after writing one.  No pain… no gain?

 

AwaitingSpringRain

 

Awaiting Spring Rain

Dewdrops
mingle with
tears of flowers,
heads bent in sorrow,
praying for long awaited rain.
Spring yearning beneath their fragile petals
in her bounty, their thirst is quenched.

In her bounty, their thirst is quenched.
Spring yearning beneath their fragile petals,
praying for long awaited rain,
heads bent in sorrow.
Tears of flowers
mingle with
dewdrops.

© Sumyanna 2017

10 Comments Add yours

  1. samba2017 says:

    I really enjoyed the shape of this poem, thanks for sharing. I have just started a poetry blog here on WordPress and today’s poem is about Spring showers in case you have time to look? Happy Wednesday! Sam 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Sorry I didn’t respond sooner – we’ve been busy here with the kid’s school. Thank you and I will check out your blog. So glad you shared 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. samba2017 says:

        No problems and thank you! 🙂

        Like

  2. kenigmatik says:

    Your writing using this technique has improved. Keep it up!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much! I have enjoyed trying.

      Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Leigha!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. These poems are quite extraordinary, Sumyanna. I can see they would be difficult to write though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Oh thank you Robbie. I’ve been enjoying them. I am getting better at it, I think. It is nice to try something new. I did that with Nonets and Reverse Nonets a while back. I still write them sometimes but for a while there it was all I would write 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

