Reflective Staircase Poetry: The Dance of Silence

DanceofSilence
Silence,
dances softly
on the horizon
at break of day.
You can find her traces
upswept in the gentle evening winds.
She finds solace, sleeping among the stars.

She finds solace, sleeping among the stars
upswept in the gentle evening winds.
You can find her traces
at break of day.
On the horizon,
dances softly –
silence.

© Sumyanna 2017

 

Reflective Staircase Poetry is just something I have been playing with.  It started out as a writing prompt idea (for fiction), grew into a poem and then I decided to switch it up a bit.

 

Essentially, the poem starts with one word on the first line, two words on the second line, etc. up until the seventh line.  Then, you repeat each line (in reverse) and the poem should have meaning both backwards and forwards.  Often, I have found, the poem has a slightly different meaning when it is repeated in reverse, which makes it all the more interesting…

13 Comments Add yours

  1. spiritwolf says:

    this is simply beautiful. a beautiful style and a beautiful thought.
    i can not think of words to describe how amazed i am.
    congratulations on this one. love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you highly. I really appreciate that!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beyond my capability, but beautiful! Really enjoyed this Sumyanna.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      They are not easy Phyllis. Even I do not attempt them every day 🙂 I guess I have to be “in the mood.” Hope you are feeling better. ((hugs)) either way.

      Like

  3. leigha66 says:

    Another wonderful example of this difficult style!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Leigha. I actually follow a group that focuses on 14 line poetry. Their main focus is sonnets (and while I love that poetry) I am worried that if I branch out I might lose the voice I already have. I don’t mind experimenting, just moving from rhyme to free verse is difficult. I used to write a lot of rhymed poetry. So I decided to make up my own rules to work within the framework of 14 lines, but with free verse as my goal. I’ve invented another poetry form because of it – besides this one, so it is not a bad thing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        That is really cool. I tend to write more free verse than anything else. I guess I just don’t like the restriction of rules in more traditional forms, but I love to read them!

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          You are not alone. I started out writing free verse when I was younger. When I started back writing a few years ago, it was mostly for rhymed verse. However, I have grown to feel rather comfortable with free verse and while restriction can be fun or challenging, I really like being able to write the way I speak or think. It translates better (for me) I think. I truly admire a well written traditional form poem, I just don’t feel it fits me as well as what I do…

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Sangbad says:

    Thanks for sharing this…need to try

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      You’re welcome. I hope you do!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much David!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome. Best, DG.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

