On Learning of My Imminent Death, a poem

I found a thought provoking prompt the other day.  Imagine a woman at the edge of the ocean.  She keeps repeating a word.  What would it be and why would she say it?  The result was this poem.

 

ImminentDeath

 

Today,

I stood at the edge of the ocean

and cried,

cancer was the only word I heard

among the rush and roar

of waves

I stood

dress clinging

to now wet skin

the sound almost

drowning out my tears.

Curious gulls

swooped overhead

singing

of their own sadness.

Grey clouds stretched

over the horizon

and settled in my soul

while uncomfortable words

fell on my tongue

I could taste their saltiness,

their unfamiliarity.

Somehow,

I knew

this could be my last sunset

my last goodbye

and all I could wonder

was the curious passing of time

and our temporary footsteps.

Today,

I stood at the edge of the ocean

leaned into the wind

and cried out “why?”

 

© Sumyanna 2017

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    This gave me chills… wonderfully written!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Leigha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome!

        Like

Leave a Reply

