I Thought of You Today, My Friend

I was having a conversation with a fellow photographer and writer named Phyllis that visits my page (and I get the joy of also visiting hers).   Words she spoke triggered a thought for a poem.  She may think I have forgotten, but fortunately, this time I can happily say I have not.  That isn’t always the case  (you know – you get old, you forget things).  I thought I’d share it with all of you today and I want to say how much I appreciate each and every single person that stops by my little place here.  Knowing all of you has been a gift…

 

ThoughtofYou

I thought of you today,

my friend

just as I picked up

my camera

adjusted the zoom

and focused intently

on traces of beauty

swept past my vision.

It is a quick chase

and I am not so held,

breathless in pursuit

but instead full of vigor

and curious glances.

I swept past the garden

in my memory

held the petals

of fragile flowers

dipped in sunlight.

I traced past my steps

looming over the microscope

light pointed just in the right direction

entranced by her changing hues

noticing the silent pathways

that color seeks to dream here.

I thought of you today,

my friend

just as I started writing these lines

heartfelt reminiscence

of someone I have never met

but someone whose heart

I cherish still.

(c) Sumyanna 2017

30 Comments Add yours

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Leigha. Somehow, I always think of the people I meet – and often carry them along with me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re very welcome.

        Like

  1. Thus poem made my day truly. Such a true innocent poem direct from your soul! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you for your beautiful comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The sentiment in the poem is very beautiful, Sumyanna.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you sweet Robbie. I still find myself amazed at knowing someone from your part of the world. I cherish the thought that I actually get a chance to see a bit into your world, into your thoughts, and delight in the artistry that you do!

      Like

  3. Totally agree, Phyllis is a wonderful friend, lovely thoughtful post 💜

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      She truly is. Thank you 🙂

      Like

  4. Sumyanna, you brought me to tears. Not only because your poem is so beautiful, beyond compare! it is! I walked along with you through your words which were so entrancing, but because you are so very special. Thank you with all my heart! I simply adore you, your very special and dear and those around you should feel blessed! You give tirelessly of yourself to your loved ones and thought and deed. You humble me, truly.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I was so worried you would miss this one. So glad you didn’t 🙂 Very glad you enjoyed this. Your conversation sparked this poem and for that I am thankful. Smiling from the inside out today…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I had to share your poem, not because it was dedicated to me, but because of it’s beauty…it’s you! I always check your blog, its a given for me.

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          No worries Phyllis 🙂 I am thrilled that you thought it worthy of reshare either way. You deserved the lines, your conversation with me sparked them to life.

          Like

          1. Your such a special and wonderful woman. I enjoy your company very much indeed.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Sumyanna says:

            Oh, thank you! Yours is adored just as much 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          3. Thank you so very much

            Liked by 1 person

      2. To be sure, I shall revisit this post daily it is truly one of the most beautiful poems I’ve ever read. I’m in love with it.

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Thank you, truly. I am thrilled.

          Like

          1. I must have read the poem a dozen times than called my kids over to read it and they loved it. My daughter was very touched and moved by your writing.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Sumyanna says:

            That is so sweet. Thank you!

            Like

      3. I sincerely hope you put your poetry in a book for all the world to see, it’s exquisite in every way.

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          I do hope so, someday. I don’t think I would ever want to self-publish. Can’t exactly say why. For me, I would like to first try it the traditional way. If that doesn’t work – who knows.

          Like

          1. It’s a bit of work for sure. My son published my book, made the cover from a photo of mine, then set the book up. I couldn’t see well enough to do it. So far it’s sold 5 books and several views. It’s a slow process, but sure feels awesome for all that.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Sumyanna says:

            I think the main reason such a daunting task does not work for me right now is just the time element. I know I want to do it, but I don’t even have time to send it out or do it myself. In the future, I hope.

            I know you must be incredibly excited! What name are you published under? Truthfully, I am not only impressed, but I have to shout out “Bravo!” There’s nothing like making your dream come true.

            Like

          3. Phyllis L. Holt and it’s entitled Prisoner on Holiday. If it weren’t for my son, I probably wouldn’t have known it was possible to do an ebook. I tried the other route and while everyone loved it, they weren’t publishing mysteries any more they’d moved into sci fy or medical transcripts etc and it cost me $150.00 in postage and return stamped envelopes. That was eons ago. Today, with the advent of email, and such it may be easier. Still, it was a dream come true and I’m still pinching myself hehe

            Like

          4. Sumyanna says:

            Oh thank you Phyllis! I am going to have to look it up. So incredibly excited for you. I have truly loved the writing that you share. I have to admit, since homeschooling the kids (it has now been 11 years) I have not read even one novel. I am glad to have found, that while I am embarrassed by that fact, I am not alone. I was talking to a librarian who also homeschooled her children and she said the one thing she enjoyed once they went off to college was that she actually got a chance to read an entire book. Things are just too busy and to get caught up in a story would kill me. I am not one to want to put a book down, but I can hardly pick one up. I have tried, but something always gets in the way…

            Sad, I know – but I hope that despite the price I pay, that it is worth all of that and then some. I am pretty sure it is, and at some point I will be able to read more. I read poetry often (because it is shorter) but it is so hard to squeeze more time for me.

            Yeah, that is the struggle for me as well (the time and struggle to try to get published). I know for certain I just don’t have the time for that now. There’s now way. So instead, I just share what I have and hope that makes a difference. Perhaps someday…

            So incredibly proud of you. Were I to buy a book – I would definitely want it signed 🙂 You mean too much to me not to…

            Like

          5. Oh Sumyanna, how precious you are! I was worried and couldn’t get a note to you because your last post said no more writing and then there was nothing. I felt more than a little concerned. I know your life is crazy busy and I sincerely hoped that was the reason I hadn’t seen anything from you. You touch my heart in so many ways, it’s quite incredible. What you share by the way, makes a massive impact! You tell a story with such beauty, it’s straight from your soul. It’s pure, honest, sweet. I’ve re-read different prose several times and will continue to do so.
            As for my book, it’s on amazon and smashwords. I spent scads trying to get it published years ago and couldn’t afford to keep that up. One day my son learned about smashwords. So he put the book in order which is quite a lot of work and beyond my sight and it was published for free. I’ve sold 5 copies and when he has time, if you have a device to read on, I’ll get him to set it up and send it, no charge! You’ll be able to read it when you have time. It’s a mystery. He’s going to get “nathan” ready and I’ll publish it next. Everyone here loved it and I made a few minor modifications but otherwise it will be the same, we’ll see how that goes. In the meantime, please take care. Your a beautiful woman I admire you.

            Liked by 1 person

          6. Sumyanna says:

            No worries. I did not intentionally end on that note, just things got crazy here. My husband went on a business trip and the same day my daughter got sick. Then, I found out at the last minute that the deadline is looming for signing my daughter up to college courses to take while in high school. It was just a lot of work and I was swamped… Oh, things are never boring here 🙂

            Oh if I were to have a book from you, I would definitely need to buy it. I would cherish it, sincerely. It is not every day someone can say they know a published author 😉 I met one a few weeks ago at the bookstore. As I spoke with him I was secretly jumping up and down for him (inside only – so as to not seem too strange.) I had not read any of his books yet, but I know how much of an achievement it is.

            I have read through some of your stories (I won’t lie and say all ONLY because of time) but I have to say how impressed I am at how well your story flows, the dialogue is wonderful. I do hope more people learn about you and your writing. So amazing to think you are already on book 2!

            Seriously, thank you son for all the work he does for you and for us as well. To have your words shared is a priceless gift Phyllis.

            Like

Leave a Reply

