Unloved, a poem

FontCandy (22)

It is hard, sometimes
picking up the phone
and waiting for you to answer.
The click
hello
the stories left untold
the promises broken
and still, we wear
the same uniform smiles
the roles, never changing.
How is it, that you never cared
that I wept
how is it, that you never cared
if I smiled
that you never bothered
to admire my canvas.
What is it, of my soul
that bothers you so
or is it that,
I am not worthy?
I am skin
of your same skin
yet somehow
my dna is twisted
beyond recognition
or is it that
it hurts too much
to ever feel
something for the child
that you once carried
that you once fed
and clothed
but somehow
never understood
enough to love.

(c) Sumyanna 2017

 

Wonderful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

6 Comments Add yours

  1. These beautiful words break my heart, Sumyanna

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      We cannot always choose what is done to us, but we can always choose what we do. I like to think that. Sometimes there is something special about turning something negative into a way to be there for others feeling the same. It’s sad, but I feel I’m better off because of it in the long run.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are a very strong and great person.

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          I think we all have our strengths and our struggles. It is never easy, but I hope that I at least strive to be what I would wish of others, if that makes sense 🙂

          Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

