And I Ran, a poem

FontCandy (8)

 

I had a dream

that I was running.

I had finally

set myself free.

The wind fluttered

beneath my shaky wings

and I ran

and I ran

and I ran

trying to find

my way home.

I caressed the grasses

growing on the prairie,

I touched the quivering branches

hanging beneath the trees

I touched the sky

I raced the sun

and I ran

and I ran

and I ran

toward my

many-colored dreams.

Hands outstretched,

wind beneath my shaky wings

I ran

and I ran

and I ran

trying to find

the beauty

that I know

resides in me.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on Covert Novelist and commented:
    Your poetry speaks for itself Sumyanna

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Like

  2. That was beautiful 🌹

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A wonderful poem, Sumyanna. I really enjoyed reading this and the picture is also lovely.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much. The poem was written for another image on another platform so I had to search and search for that one. So glad it worked for the poem 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

