Leaving Home, a poem

FontCandy (4)

I wrote it on a napkin –

I hate it here

Carelessly scrawled in crayon

Yet etched miles upon my heart

It was not long ago

When you told me

We had to move

No problem,

But we not only moved our home

We left a country

That I had known and loved

I remember visits to the new house

Even before the final embarkment

I refused to go

I held on

To hands that I found familiar

Smells and scents of yesterday

The warmth of my pillow

On someone else’s bed

And dreamed

And wished

We would not leave.

Yet here we are,

A long year away

Everyone is smiling

Around the table

Canned music

playing in the background

And everyone ate,

But me.

I could not have

etched those lines deeper

I could not have

yearned to linger here more

Before my home

Was swept under my feet

And still today,

I long to go back

Even though

she will never

Remember my scent

As I remember hers.

(c) Sumyanna 2017

Beautiful photo courtesy of Pixabay.com

4 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    Sometimes moving is so hard, especially one so far away. Wonderfully written!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yes, it is never easy. I was only 8 at the time. I was rather upset about it. Fortunately, I have grown to love my home here, but I do still miss the place I grew up in even though I would not recognize her at all anymore.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

