The Art of Chasing Bubbles, Part #5

Today I finally heard back from the Emily Dickinson Awards.  My book was not chosen.  I think I cried for a few minutes, but then, as it is always – I head back to work.  The kids have testing this week so we are all rather busy.  We have to drive 3 days back and forth to another city, spending the entire day there waiting.  Testing will take all day long.  I don’t know if I should feel sorry for myself, or the kid taking the tests! Oh, the joy!



Right now, we are going to take the large tent out to the backyard.  The sky is a bit gray, but still it is sunny and every once in a while you might spy a peck of blue.  There are finally insects buzzing about and  I want to get out and enjoy the warmer weather.  What better way to do school, than beneath the clouds?



My kids feel bad about the competition, but as I was choosing these images to share today, I had a thought.  Know that this is not a reflection on my photography skills, but just a comment on the beauty I am able to find to photograph.  These are things that most people will not see.  They are hidden and you have to truly look closely to sum them up.  If you see it, you would say, “my, that is beautiful!” but even then, there are people who do not see it.



I think it is the same with ourselves.  We all have beauty, hidden from the masses.  We are sometimes underestimated or overlooked and we worry about our own worth.  In the end though, just like that bubble – we have value and our beauty is known and perhaps appreciated most, by those who are closest to us.  Those who care to open their eyes.



So yes, I did not win.  It is disappointing, but who knows – perhaps I would let it all get to my head.  The only thing I am certain of is, that I am sure the person who won was incredibly deserving.  Seeing as I only received a form letter, it is hard to know why my own book was not chosen.  Even if I did know, I don’t know if I would want to change just so that I could be published.  I enjoy writing with the heart and soul I have.  It might change, of course – just as I will change in time.  I will grow in perspective, and hopefully I will grow a more perceptive eye, but I won’t change who I am beneath my own skin.



I had a thought while writing this, and I cannot help but think it is true…

 

“Sometimes beauty is only to be appreciated by those willing to see it.”

(c) Sumyanna 2017



I hope you have a beautiful day and that you do truly enjoy the images I share.  Things like this, should never be taken for granted.  Life is truly full of beauty overlooked.


 
(c) Sumyanna 2017


WIN_20170327_13_17_18_Pro (2)

 

WIN_20170327_13_37_38_Pro (2)

 

WIN_20170327_13_48_04_Pro (2)

 

 

If you look closely at this image, you can see the reflection of the clouds on the bubble…WIN_20170327_13_58_27_Pro (2)

 

WIN_20170327_13_58_50_Pro (2)

 

WIN_20170327_14_06_04_Pro (2)

 

Just after one of the bubbles broke, only a lace of broken bubble left…WIN_20170327_14_11_24_Pro (2)

 

WIN_20170327_14_15_06_Pro (2)

5 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    Sorry to hear your book did not get chosen. Know you are a very talented writer and photographer! I love this batch of pictures especially the popped bubble lace and the one you can see the “wall” between multiple bubbles.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      It’s okay. I have learned to accept that. I am still fortunate to have valued my words enough to try. That was not always the case. So yes, to go along with your wonderful posts “I do have something to be thankful for.” 🙂 Yes, it is amazing to see all of that under a microscope!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your photographs take away my breath, they are so beautiful. I very much appreciate and admire your work along with so many others on this site and beyond. Life is all about learning and timing and your recognition has already happened and will expand further each passing day. Be patient it will happen 🌹

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you like them. Today, I will post a few beauties with you especially in mind 🙂 For brightening my day. I truly appreciate that.

      I truly appreciate being able to do what I enjoy, no matter what. I also enjoy greatly that I get to share it with others and find other extremely talented people along the way. Life is a journey, and while it is nice to achieve something, perhaps we have to realize that we already have achieved so much. It is not always necessary for everyone to know, but to touch those who are closest to us and those we meet along the way 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

