Remembering, While Being Forgotten (a poem)

 

FontCandy (2)

 

It is a curiosity,

with me –

to wonder what traces

I have left behind

perhaps because,

I have never washed away

remembrance.

I have often

tossed and turned

in my own worries, my own past pain

and even these moments

I try not to recollect,

but from time to time

they demand attention.

Fortunately, these

are not the only moments kept,

for other thoughts dwell

of gentle kindness

of long ago smiles

left to ponder

moments that still

seem monumental –

to me,

yet even those

who once held my hand

have grown away from them.

I guess

I should have noticed

that time erases all things

sooner or later…

not only moments held

within our hearts

but even our weary selves

shall fade away.

I had wished to be

permanently etched,

tugging away at the hearts

of those who mattered

begging them to ponder

whatever shadows I have left behind

and perhaps hoping,

they would wonder where I have gone,

what I have achieved,

but every day that passes

I fade from

their remembrance,

If I had ever been there

to begin with.

 

(c) Sumyanna 2017

6 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    What a lovely remembrance poem. I know others are etched deeply on my heart… I too hope I leave some memory behind for them.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I always hope so, but sadly sometimes we are forgotten. Perhaps it is well, that way. That at least someone remembers. To have people in your life worthy of remembering is a gift 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        The quote I read once was something along the lines of – true friends leave fingerprints on your heart… may we all have a lot of fingerprints!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          So very true 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautifully written. I believe people do remember but as time passes we meet new people and old ties blur away.Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      True, but sometimes people do truly forget in time. It is sad when someone means a lot to you and they don’t remember who you are…

      Like

Leave a Reply

