Where the Magic Happens, a poem

FontCandy (6)

 

You have brought me

smiles and laughter

magic tricks

where you cover your head

in a towel

place a cat under your hat

and pull the towel

away slowly

to reveal your trick.

There is fun in this,

feigning surprise

all the while,

watching you

conduct

your not so secret

performance.

There is fun in

watching you

slowly find yourself

among the things

you hear

you see

and learn.

That is where

the real magic happens

and I applaud mightily

at your performance.

 

© Sumyanna 2017
Written for my dear little one, who entertained me this morning by showing me his talents 🙂

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Such a cute one. Simple and sweet. Keep up the good work. And i hope your little one shows more talent as he grows.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you. Children can definitely be an inspiration.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. joaquin48 says:

    This poem brings me back to my own childishness…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you. Oh, the simpler days!

      Like

  3. Awe, how delightful. Magic in your words, Sumyanna absolute magic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Oh it is such a delight to capture in words the feelings that dwell in the heart. As one mother to another – I know you understand.

      Like

      1. I surely do and it’s beautiful. Your words are just so beautiful and capture eloquently the emotions involved. Love your writing.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Thank you so very much Phyllis. I appreciate that. I have seen your message and intend to work on that soon. Things were busy with testing, but should be slowing down 🙂

          Like

          1. I imagine life’s busy. Kids make life busy whether intended or not hehe. They are involving whether it’s structured or them being themselves hehe

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Sumyanna says:

            It has been a bit crazy over here due to testing. One kiddo had testing one week. The next week 2 kiddos had testing and one did not get finished, so we had to go back the next week. Traveling back and forth and not having the comfort of home means we need to make things up. I’m glad to be home this week!

            Like

          3. That’s a great relief I’m sure! I know life gets hectic here cause I look after 4 grandkids and the coming and going and meals and and and…so sometimes it takes awhile before I get back to answer or write or anything else for that matter, lol

            Liked by 1 person

          4. Sumyanna says:

            Yes – hectic mode is the common one around here 🙂 I can’t complain though. I would hate to just laze around. I like keeping busy.

            Like

          5. Oh I know what you mean. Keeps life interesting for sure!

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

